Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Icyblue52
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I found the bread to taste too yeasty and even after through baking all the bread inside (not the outer crust) was too soft and doughy. I think if I try again I will add less water and yeast. I also added less salt than what the recipe called for due to the many comments saying the 1 tablespoon was too much so I changed it to 3/4 of a tablespoon instead. Next time I will do half a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Yummy. Good texture and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Tried several other recipes before this one and this one by far was the best.....not buying bread at store ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
The bread came out very good texture-wise. I used kosher salt in hopes that it wouldn't be too salty, but it turns out needed more salt. I should have used regular salt. I did use the amount of salt the recipe calls for. And the amount of flour used depends on the humidity in your kitchen. You might need more or less than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I love it the bread is great. It is even better when you toast it and put a little butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Just made this recipe and was somewhat disappointed. 1st rise was perfect, second rise was also perfect like it should be. My problem is that it never rose any higher when baked. I had a loaf of bread that was no higher than the pan. The bread tasted great but the crumb was firm and heavy. Will try it again, I just wish I knew what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Keehn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I Used Only 1 Packett Of Yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Boss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Delicious! I am a novice cook/baker and this was a great first bread recipe. I halved the recipe and it turned out amazing. I don't see a need for store bought bread anymore :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It could be because I'm new to baking bread, but I found I had to add almost 4 cups of flour (I also added 1 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp salt)! It came out very light and fluffy (which is good) but it was also a little bland. I used regular Crisco instead of lard. Will try again with some more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Just took two loaves out of the oven and one is nearly gone! I bake most of the bread we use and decided to try this recipe because of the reviews and how easy it appeared. It lives up to the promises: a nice crispy crust and tender but sturdy crumb. I can't wait to see how it tastes toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States