Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Tried this recipe last year and loved it I have used it weekly ever since awesome bread and rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I have cooked this bread twice. I am not too familiar with making bread so the outcome what probably my fault. Both times, I had to add 2 more cups of flour to work it. After adding the prescribed amount of flour, the dough was just way too sticky and unmanageable. Adding the extra flour the bread turned out okay but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
It of the handful off recipes I've tried this is by far my favorite. It's simple enough to memorize. Easy to put together and give you wonderful, consistent loaves each time. Off you leave the brad dough it to rise too long you end up with a yeasty and alcoholic tasting loaves so if you're running behind our can't get to your dough when you thought you could throw it I'm the fridge for a few days and it will develop an incredible flavor! The extra long refrigerated rise is what really takes this brad to a 5 start recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the closest I've gotten to store-bought bread. It's very soft, moist, springy. Delicious! I did substitute butter for lard and did rub butter onto the outside of the loaf immediately after removing from the oven. It definitely helps the crust (I hate a cripsy/hard crust). Used 12x4 pans and it made two not-so-tall loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was a wonderful wonderful recipe. It was easy to follow and a the results were fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Delicious and easy, i wish i had the time to make my own bread for my family everyday, this would be the recipe i would use. Not sure why but it only took about half the time stated to rise at both risings. I will certainly make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I make this bread almost daily. I have halved the recipe, and then after a few loaves I also added 1 tablespoon of molasses to the recipe. And WOW! This bread is super toasted for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHARKNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this bread and it turned out wonderful I did use butter instead of lard only because i didn't have any lard other then that i didn't change any thing else, I used and electric slicer to slice bread and it sliced up beautifully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great recipe!!! I used margarine instead of lard and these turned out beautifully. My family loves this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This recipe truly is the best! I braided one loaf, placed it in the bread pan, and brushed the top with a beaten egg before baking...the second loaf was the traditional shape and I brushed it with melted butter before baking...both looked great and tasted even better! I actually forgot to add the salt to the recipe but it wasn't missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madawaska, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States