Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I do like this but I added scolded milk and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was so easy to make and very delicious...I changed the bread flour to AP flour (I exclusively used AP flour), the lard to Crisco shortening, and the tablespoon of salt to a teaspoon, and the result was still delicious...A chewy bread with a crispy crust, absolutely perfect and delicious! I also brushed the tops with melted butter to make them crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is actually a really good recipe. We enjoyed the saltiness, however, I would have a tendency to cut the salt by at least 1/3 if not 1/2. Easy-slice, holds up well. Makes good rolls also, although a little dry-you will want extra butter with rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlet Estes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This has become my 'go to' bread, it's awesome. I always add some flax seed meal and chia seeds, I just mix them in the flour before I get started. Great way to add some omega 3's to your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcb111060
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe comes out great every time I make it! My family can't get enough of it. I follow the directions just as they are. No problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Followed recipe. Substituted coconut oil for lard. Simply scrumptious! I have baked bread for years, always used milk, eggs & butter. Thought I'd give this a try. I will be making it every week or as soon as I run out! So simple & so good!! Not too salty, perfect amount of sugar. Nothing like kneading dough to get all the kinks out of your brain.:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I have never made bread from scratch before, this recipe was easy to follow and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Turned out very well thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Hawkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
i made this tonight and it is the FLUFFIEST bread i have ever made i have tried so many recipes and they all turnout dense but this bread is like heaven. this will be one for the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Keckler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This recipe is fool proof. I made it the per recipe the first two times, as I always do, and both times it was excellent! The last few times I have made minor modifications according to my own individual taste. First I added half the salt the recipe calls for and substituted it for sugar. I'm not sure if it's because I use sea salt, but the first time it was just a little too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States