Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Love love love it! I only made small tweaks... small red potatoes, grated zucchini, beef stock soaked TVP and some nutritional yeast flakes to the potato and meat mixture - that's it. But after re-reading the recipe, I see I left out the italian seasoning, tomato and garlic... but no one was the wiser. The "stop-trying-to-make-me-vegan" hubby and "I-don't-like-anything" 3 year old scarfed it down AND requested the pie for the next day's lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I had never eaten Shepherds pit before and have nothing to compare it to, but this is a wonderful dish, easy to make, can be adjusted with other ingredients and I agree with one of the other reviewers, it was hard not to eat the mashed potatoes before the pie was put together. Next time I'll try putting in some mushroom. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Made this last night with a few twists. I used veggie ground meat but all dairy products. I omitted the olive oil and cream cheese in the potatoes and added 1 6oz container of plain greek yogurt and about 1.5 TBSP margarine. I also used 8 or 9 baby gold potatoes which i think give a better flavor in mashed potatoes. For the bottom layer I omitted the celery & tomato, but added a can of creamed corn. In assembly I cooked the meat by itself first in onion & garlic and also with about a TBSP of worcestershire plus a tsp or so each of beef powder and onion powder, then I set that aside on another plate. (TIP- because veggie meat doesn't "crumble" like regular meat, I used a potato masher to ground it up while cooking and it worked great)I sauteed the veggies in the same pan in a little oil adding the other seasonings, then I added the meat. I also tried using a pie crust on the bottom but the next time I won't do that, because it made it taste too much like pastry. The rest turned out pretty darn yummy!! I liked this recipe as a starting point, I'm always one to put my own signature on stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
a good base recipe that can be easily altered to include dairy and meat (and a handy way to use up leftover turkey-tofu meatloaf). One time-saving hint - use a cast iron skillet for sauteeing the veggies and meat/meat substitute and then top with the mashed potato layer and put into the oven -no need for a separate casserole dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tisha
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Amazing! I added a lot of spices and mixed vegetable broth to add moisture to the "meat". Everyone loved it, including the meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a hit with vegan and non-vegan relatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I doubled the recipe, and did not add meat substitutes. To create a healthier dish, I made the potatoes only using a little butter, milk and garlic salt. I used a splash of olive oil (instead of vegetable) to sauté the veggies. I added 1/2 bag of frozen broccoli, 4 oz. of mushrooms, a squirt of ketchup, and a splash of soy sauce because I was out of tomatoes. I only added shredded cheddar cheese to the top of the potatoes. It made enough food for one meal for a family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe. Couple changes to cut down on fat content: plain mashed potatoes, used firm tofu instead of meat subsitute, added fresh spinach and 1 T catsup. Used Daiya cheddar and mozzarella mix for topping. So tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very nice! I am a new vegan and this was a very nice recipe. My kids and I ate it all up :) We used lima beans instead of peas, and I added spinach because it's how I remembered shepherd's pie when I lived in France. I used Boca crumbles-- only a half package though, and no cheese because none of us like it. I mashed the potatoes with tofutti sour cream, dried parsley and a little bit of water, and it was awesome. I just couldn't deal with all of the extra ingredients in the mashed potatoes but maybe I will try that sometime. Nice recipe though, especially for a reformed meat eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Not a fan sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States