Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
My family loves this... I sub'd the frozen peas for some fresh broccoli and took out the tomatoes and even my kids loved it!! totally replaces my old holiday main dish... and leaves my husband begging for it on a more regular basis. awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This recipe tasted great- Me and my boyfriend both thought it was yummy (he is not a vegetarian/vegan, I am) I used morning star crumbles as the meat substitute. Instead of Italian seasoning, I used Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning and I had to cook the veggies a little longer- about 25 minutes total to get them soft. I used a little veggie broth and covered my pan to let them cook thoroughly. The potatoes were delicious on their own, the addition of mayonnaise and cream cheese was very tasty. Overall an easy, satisfying meal- we will be eating it again tonight : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This was incredible! I made it exactly as the recipe with the exception of throwing a handful of kale into the pan of veggies simply because I had it and didn't want it to go to waste. I used a mozzarella style soy cheese because that's what was on hand, although I may try a cheddar style next time. This was great period, not just "great for vegan." Some other reviewers mentioned how wonderful the mashed potato mixture is alone and I agree! I am planning to keep this recipe on hand for the potatoes as a side dish with other meals. The only thing I would change is the 2 qt. dish. I filled mine to the brim and had a good amount of veggies and potatoes left. Will use a larger dish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was very simple to make and it was delicious! My entire family of meat eaters enjoyed it. I especially loved the mashed potatoes and will use this recipe for my mashed potatoes in the future. I substituted soy creamer for the soy milk and worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
good recipe, I made it vegetarian and not vegan, but it is real comfort food! I added some curry powder in the "meat" and it was a great stroke!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Love love love it! I only made small tweaks... small red potatoes, grated zucchini, beef stock soaked TVP and some nutritional yeast flakes to the potato and meat mixture - that's it. But after re-reading the recipe, I see I left out the italian seasoning, tomato and garlic... but no one was the wiser. The "stop-trying-to-make-me-vegan" hubby and "I-don't-like-anything" 3 year old scarfed it down AND requested the pie for the next day's lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I had never eaten Shepherds pit before and have nothing to compare it to, but this is a wonderful dish, easy to make, can be adjusted with other ingredients and I agree with one of the other reviewers, it was hard not to eat the mashed potatoes before the pie was put together. Next time I'll try putting in some mushroom. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Made this last night with a few twists. I used veggie ground meat but all dairy products. I omitted the olive oil and cream cheese in the potatoes and added 1 6oz container of plain greek yogurt and about 1.5 TBSP margarine. I also used 8 or 9 baby gold potatoes which i think give a better flavor in mashed potatoes. For the bottom layer I omitted the celery & tomato, but added a can of creamed corn. In assembly I cooked the meat by itself first in onion & garlic and also with about a TBSP of worcestershire plus a tsp or so each of beef powder and onion powder, then I set that aside on another plate. (TIP- because veggie meat doesn't "crumble" like regular meat, I used a potato masher to ground it up while cooking and it worked great)I sauteed the veggies in the same pan in a little oil adding the other seasonings, then I added the meat. I also tried using a pie crust on the bottom but the next time I won't do that, because it made it taste too much like pastry. The rest turned out pretty darn yummy!! I liked this recipe as a starting point, I'm always one to put my own signature on stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
a good base recipe that can be easily altered to include dairy and meat (and a handy way to use up leftover turkey-tofu meatloaf). One time-saving hint - use a cast iron skillet for sauteeing the veggies and meat/meat substitute and then top with the mashed potato layer and put into the oven -no need for a separate casserole dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tisha
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Amazing! I added a lot of spices and mixed vegetable broth to add moisture to the "meat". Everyone loved it, including the meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States