Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Took to a Christmas potluck where, by chance, the host had made a beef version. Some guests told me they preferred my vegan version. Two small changes: added a splash of vegan Worcestershire sauce. Also, since I mistakenly bought vegan sour cream rather than vegan cream cheese... used the vegan sour cream but added a little nutritional yeast. Delicious! By the way, I used Lightlife Smart Ground crumbles and Daiya cheddar-style vegan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This came out really well...it gets 4stars because of minor changes. In my regular beef shephards pie the recipe calls for 1/2 c of beef gravy on the meat mix. Since this is the veggie version i thickened 1/2 c of veggie broth with flour for veggie gravy. The potato mix on top...seemed awfully high in fat content so i cut in half the mayo milk and oil. It came out just fine. My daughter has been bugging me lately that we need to eat healthier. So....i made this version and she was horrfied that i messed with the traditional shep pie that she likes. She was prepared to hate it.....and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Made this special for my sister who's vegan, and not only was she floored on how good it was, but the rest of my family had no idea it was vegan. They all loved it and I have to admit, best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made this for myself plus 3 highly carnivorous men in Nebraska. They all loved it. And believe me, these guys wouldn't lie just to be polite. This is by far, the best vegan recipe I have ever tried. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made this last night vegitarian style. my boyfriend and I loved it. I used the advice of the other reveiws, added pot pie crust to the bottom and used the vegi's I had on hand. I left out the mayo and added butter instead in the potatoes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Amazing and delicious. My boyfriend tells me that this is one of the best things I've made. My only big change was to cook the vegetables in vegetable broth. It allowed me to cut down on the oil that I would have otherwise cooked them in, and brought out the flavor. Also, we used fresh thyme and rosemary, and that worked out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was good! Instead of the carrots and celery, I added about a cup of mixed frozen chopped carrots, corn and peas. I didn't follow the mashed potato recipe; I just made traditional buttermilk potatoes and used regular grated sharp cheddar cheese on the top. I've never had "traditional" shepherd's pie so I have nothing to compare this to, but I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Loved this one! Shared with my omnivore friends and they thought it was phenomenal, too! Leftovers were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Really good recipe. I did use real mayo, cream cheese and shredded cheese. Everything else was the same as the recipe. I really love the mashed potatoes. The boyfriend went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
excellent vegan dish. I am not a vegan but do like meals without meat and have found this one to be very good and a "do again" with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States