Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is the best way I've found to use up the bounty of winter veggies from our CSA. We have lots of potatoes, and I've been successful in adding all sorts of vegetables (carrots, parsnips, turnips, celery) to the veggie mix. I omit the faux-meat and add mashed beans (white, garbanzo) instead. I also double the spices used. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sheryl
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This came out good- replaced the soy and vegan items with whole milk items. Used veggie meat- tasted just like real meat when it was all done. Used zucchini in place of celery and a couple dabs of Worcestershire sauce - boyfriend loved it! I thought it was good; just am not too fond of meaty dishes; was surprised by how much this tasted like the real thing. Edit: I've made this several times since. I love putting Worcester sauce in the mixture and as a garnish. I've added more stars since I've really come to appreciate this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent. Tastes just like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was delicious. Even better the next day. We used soy ground beef, but used regular dairy for the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
amazing honestly it was so good, i am new to being vegan and this was an easy transision. the only thing I did different was add some garlic to the mash potatoes to (but i love garlic) really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liannasheree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I used real dairy (except milk, I used almond milk) and did my usual don't-really-measure-anything, and it still turned out amazing. While making it, I wondered if the "meat" mixture should have some kind of gravy-ness to it, but I didn't miss it at all when eating. In fact, I rather devoured my first serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This absolutely delicious! I made the vegetarian version of this recipe, and it came out wonderfully. It's a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is delicious! Used dairy products, including some low fat options. We did feel like the mashed potato layer was a little thick, so I'd suggest either using a wider dish, or maybe using less potatoes. Also the "meat" & veg part was pretty crumbly, so I wonder if there's a way to keep it together more... (haven't read the comments yet to see if someone else figured it out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VegWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this in individual ramekin like dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very tasty! Made it vegetarian, not vegan, with cheese and milk, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States