Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tisha
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Amazing! I added a lot of spices and mixed vegetable broth to add moisture to the "meat". Everyone loved it, including the meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a hit with vegan and non-vegan relatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I doubled the recipe, and did not add meat substitutes. To create a healthier dish, I made the potatoes only using a little butter, milk and garlic salt. I used a splash of olive oil (instead of vegetable) to sauté the veggies. I added 1/2 bag of frozen broccoli, 4 oz. of mushrooms, a squirt of ketchup, and a splash of soy sauce because I was out of tomatoes. I only added shredded cheddar cheese to the top of the potatoes. It made enough food for one meal for a family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe. Couple changes to cut down on fat content: plain mashed potatoes, used firm tofu instead of meat subsitute, added fresh spinach and 1 T catsup. Used Daiya cheddar and mozzarella mix for topping. So tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very nice! I am a new vegan and this was a very nice recipe. My kids and I ate it all up :) We used lima beans instead of peas, and I added spinach because it's how I remembered shepherd's pie when I lived in France. I used Boca crumbles-- only a half package though, and no cheese because none of us like it. I mashed the potatoes with tofutti sour cream, dried parsley and a little bit of water, and it was awesome. I just couldn't deal with all of the extra ingredients in the mashed potatoes but maybe I will try that sometime. Nice recipe though, especially for a reformed meat eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Not a fan sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I hate reviews that don't stick to the original recipe, however since I only made some minor changes, and since it was so good, I'm reviewing it and giving it 5 stars. For the potatoes I just added a bit of vegan cream cheese, some earth balance, and a splash of soy creamer. Since others commented on the bottom layer being dry I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a tomato and it kept things really moist. Not a fan of vegan cheese so I left that off. I served it with the vegetarian gravy recipe from this site and it was perfect. None of us were really fans of traditional shepherds pie before we were vegan, but everyone loved this. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I found this was fantastic I change a few things I added some vinegar and olive oil dressing to the veg. I also half cooked my carrots before I added them and used a can of stew tomatoes with the chopped tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I've made this a couple of times now and each time it's been great! The first time I made it as directed, only used instant mashed potatoes to save time. It was very good. The second time I still used the instant mashed potatoes but subbed in a can of garbanzo beans for the ground beef substitute. Also, after cooking the veggies, I deglazed the pan with about 1/2 cup of vegetable broth to make the veggies a bit more moist. It was FABULOUS! This is a great recipe because you can vary the ingredients to your liking. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Tried this recipe for a dinner party particularly for my vegan sister-in-law.....she is a fantastic cook and she raved at how tasty this was..and many of the carnivores agreed! We topped it with a fabulous mushroom vegan gravy which was just like putting the icing on the cake!!!!Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States