Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was great! I made it using dairy products instead of making it vegan however I still kept it vegetarian by using the ground beef substitute. I also used butter in the mashed potatoes instead of cream cheese because I didn't have any. I'm always looking for tasty vegetarian recipes since recently becoming one and this is one I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made this for Christmas. My brother's girlfriend is vegan, has been for several years, and we always feel bad because we're a meat and potatoes family and don't now what we can really feed her. This turned out quite well. She described it as "decadent" and my brother had seconds and thirds. Leftovers were finished at dinner tonight. Definitely keeping this one in my recipe box! My parents rated it as a 4. Put a little salt in the bottom half of the dish, and I think it really will earn that 5 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I did make a few changes to suit my tastes - I added mushrooms and pie crusts (I guess I made more of a "pot pie") Very yummy, and filling. I thought the mashed potato layer was fabulous. I would make this again, thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Had been wanting to make this for a while and finally got around to it last night. OMG!!! Absolutely amazing! I made a couple of minor adjustments, mostly just to speed it up. I subbed instant potatoes, prepared just according to package instructions (just easier). I also subbed a whole bag of frozen peas and carrots (15 oz or so) rather than using the scant half cup of peas + fresh carrots. Like another reviewer, I forgot the tomato and just added some ketchup, along with about half a cup of veggie bouillion to keep it moist. I also added a generous squirt of Sriracha. It was delicious!!! My boyfriend, who converted to vegetarianism about a year ago, said it is one of his favorite dishes that I have made. Since I left out the mayo, cream cheese, and oil in the potatoes, and only used a splash of olive oil to saute the veggies in, this was also a very low fat dish. So much better than we ever expected it to be!!!! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe - it's fantastic! I doubled the recipe and my sons and husband devoured everything. I couldn't find vegan mayo or cream cheese so used regular (I didn't add oil to my potatoes). This was the first time I used soy cheese and enjoyed that too. Loved this recipe and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The potatoes alone get 5 stars. I wanted to eat them all out of the bowl before they made it to the oven! I followed the recipe as written except I added cheese to the potatoes. I used Daiya cheddar substitute because it's soy and gluten free. Yum!! I followed the bottom layer recipe almost exactly, though I used green beans and broccoli instead of tomatoes and peas (don't like them), and added mushrooms. For the meat substitute I used Boca crumbles. This is definitely going on rotation in my house!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was very good, but I will make a few changes next time...i was not crazy about the Italian seasoning....and i think I will put cheese on top of the veggie mixture as well as on topp of the mashed potatoes.....but still very yummy, tastes great with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachie-Pooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Made this vegetarian rather than vegan. Used half instant, half mashed red potatoes with butter and sour cream. Totally forgot we needed a tomato, so followed another reviewer's suggestion and used a bit more than half a can of veg broth, about a tbsp of butter & a little flour. Also for lack of tomato, threw in a few squirts of ketchup and a splash of soy sauce. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Yum! Didn't use fake meat but added broccoli and mushrooms instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I have never had traditional Shepherd's pies but my husband said he used to love it before he became a vegetarian. It came out absolutely fabulous! Even my five year old son didn't say a word about all the veggies in it and finished his whole plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States