Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Andrea made this her way and is was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Greasy, heavy, and unsatisfying. IThe dish didn't take shape, and overall felt less like shepherd's pie and more like loaded mashed potatoes. The dish felt under seasoned and became palatable only after liberal application of salt and Frank's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Since I don't eat meat,I almost didn't open the "Thanksgiving" email from Allrecipes,but am I glad I did. This recipe is so good. I would have never thought to attempt a shepards pie without meat. I made it vegetarian,not vegan, skipped the cream cheese,because I forgot to buy it and added mushrooms,because I love them, but the kept everything else the same. It is a great cold weather comfort food. I also like it because you can add or change the vegetables to suit your taste or what happens to be on hand. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Made non-vegan. Turned out great. And was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this dish on a whim so I did not have all the ingredients on hand. I used an instant mash potato mix for the topping. For the bottom, I used onions, garlic, carrots, canned corn, canned peas, canned tomatoes, and sweet peppers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My picky boys loved this! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Excellent! My family eats this several times per month. I leave out the tomatoes and mix a packaged gravy mix (made with 1 cup of water) into the meat mixture, but other than that I prepare it according to the recipe. It is one of our absolute favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is the best vegan recipe we’ve found on this site thus far. Technically, we made this vegetarian since subbing dairy cream cheese and cheddar cheese for soy products. For the mashed potatoes, subbed almond milk for soy milk, added 1/8 cup light ranch dressing, reduced the olive oil to 1/8 cup, added finely chopped parsley, and omitted the salt. Doubled the bottom layer, and subbed Sazón Tropical for the Italian seasoning. Used 2 (10 ounce) packages Marjon Tofu Crumbles, Politely Hot which enhanced the flavor. Used a 3 quart baking dish; baked for 25 minutes and then broiled on high for about two minutes to slightly brown the cheese. Great recipe, VeggieChefLaura, and hope you share some other ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I made this Shepherd's Pie as it gets such great reviews, but I found the bottom dry very dry. The mashed potatoes were good, but overall it was nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Tastes great. Need only half of the potato topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States