Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Surpisingly, I loved this and will make it again. I felt as if it wanted more flavoring but not quite sure what. I will play with it next time. Maybe some Worcestershire would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Wow, this is super. I love any veggie recipie that lets me feel like I am eating ground beef. I omitted any tomato and let people add ketchup as desired. The 3 kids liked it and will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very good! Just recently turned vegan & my sister passed on this recipe to me. It is so good! It's worth all the work. Silly me, not thinking, chopped up all my veggies with a Pampered Chef chopper rather than sticking them all in the food processor. I highly recommend doing that instead. Even my meat-loving, non- vegan fiancee LOVED this! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsafina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Since we're not vegan or vegetarian, we cook it without all of the substitute ingredients. It is really good (and by far the easiest I've tried to make)! My big changes: 1) we use instant mashed potatoes and only add 4-5 tablespoons of neufchatel cheese to them; it helps if your mashed potatoes stay thick; 2) we use half the amount of carrots and celery; 3) we double the onion; 4) we use about 1.5 C green beans instead of peas; 5) we add about 2 tablespoons regular breadcrumbs to the bottom layer right before you put it in the baking dish; 6) we use ground turkey. When using the ground turkey (or any meat), it can get too oily, so we don't use any of the vegetable oil, and we drain the meat (and add breadcrumbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legally Aud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I served this to my family, and it was declared by all to be very good. I only used the recipe for the bottom part. I used my favourite Mashed recipe for the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this the vegan way as described and it was wonderful! I substituted margarine for the olive oil in the potatoes because I wanted a more buttery taste. I also used a vegan pie crust and made the entire dish in a pie plate. It came out wonderful! I highly recommend Daiya brand soy cheese, it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was very good, but I will make a few changes next time...i was not crazy about the Italian seasoning....and i think I will put cheese on top of the veggie mixture as well as on topp of the mashed potatoes.....but still very yummy, tastes great with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachie-Pooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious! I made some substitutions. I used Italian sausage imitation crumbles since the beef crumbles were out. Also not a vegan so I used normal mayo, milk, cheese, cream cheese. Oddly enough I'm not big on vegetables but this is a great way to prepare them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The potatoes alone get 5 stars. I wanted to eat them all out of the bowl before they made it to the oven! I followed the recipe as written except I added cheese to the potatoes. I used Daiya cheddar substitute because it's soy and gluten free. Yum!! I followed the bottom layer recipe almost exactly, though I used green beans and broccoli instead of tomatoes and peas (don't like them), and added mushrooms. For the meat substitute I used Boca crumbles. This is definitely going on rotation in my house!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I have never had traditional Shepherd's pies but my husband said he used to love it before he became a vegetarian. It came out absolutely fabulous! Even my five year old son didn't say a word about all the veggies in it and finished his whole plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States