Traditional Springerle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This sounds like the same recipe my grandma used to use. I can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robigaise
Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Was good, but has anyone ever 'finished' it? Many of the 'old timers' would use food colors to 'paint' the Springerle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I, too, have many molds from House on the Hill, and have used their recipe, which is much more fussy than this. The molds are stunning; they'd better be for the cost, and people are always blown away by them-as if I carved each cookie myself! I have found that crimped cookie cutter shapes--square, rectangle, circle, do a nice job of finishing the cookies. I have also used stamps intended for ink to make nice impressions. I love "painting" the cookies with various food coloring recipes, although I have not found one that is quite what I'm looking for--does anyone out there have suggestions for this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was my first introduction to springerle. At first, I was unsure of these because I am not a fan of black licorice. After being talked into trying them, I was very surprised to find that anise in cookies is actually tasty! I really enjoyed these and was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I liked the look of this recipe compared to the one that was passed down from my grand-mother, to my mother and then to me. I use a Springerle rolling pin rather than a mold, but I may see if I can find a mold for a different look. I have not yet inherited the rolling pin my mother got from her mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjstrouble1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greenbabby
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were great. My mom said they were just like her mom use to make. I did add a little lemon zest because that's the way my grandma used to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My dough was too moist and I had to add at least half a cup of flour to make them roll-able. I will try the recipe again and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Thank you so much for this terrific recipe. I'm Australian, and I had never heard of any biscuits ( cookies ) like these, especially with the anise seeds, and the length of time between cutting out and baking. Leaving them in a tin overnight made them chewy, rather than very hard as they were when they first came out of the oven. I cut them out with a diamond shape cutter, but may have to invest in a proper springerle mould for next time. We don't have these in Australia, but thank God for the Internet! I especially liked the fact that they are so different from most other cookies, because of the anise seeds, and the fact that they are not as sweet as most cookies. I followed the recipe exactly, and they were perfect - everyone loved them, and I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks so much, Jan from Geelong, Australia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
MAN! This is the first springerle recipe I have ever made that A) turned out and B) tasted good! Usually the anise flavoring in springerle cookies is too much for my taste, but these are superb! I have yet to find a traditional springerle board, but I cut them into squares and used a vintage Christmas rubber stamp to put a design on them. Thanks so MUCH for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleBrownBettie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PREGOCOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
UPDATE! My mother called a few weeks ago and mentioned that she had tried making a variation for Valentine's Day with the zest of an orange and 1/8 tsp orange oil. AMAZING! and beautiful pressed with a springerle mold and then cut with a heart shaped cookie cutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States