Traditional Sauerbraten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is one fantastic recipe for sauerbraten. I made the sauerbraten twice within a period of two (2) weeks. I'm ready to make another batch. The family loves it! The only changes I made were: (1) added about a teaspoon of granulated garlic to the marinate; (2) used chuck roast rather than rump roast due to a cost savings of $1 per pound; (3) strained the solids from the marinate before cooking the beef; (4) "finely chopped" the ginger snap cookies in a food processor, rather than "crumble"; (5) whisked the finely chopped ginger snap cookies in enough water to make a smooth consistency (like mayonnaise); then, added to the marinate when making the gravy; (6) added a few splashes of apple cider vinegar, as necessary, to have plenty of gravy. I served the sauerbraten on a bed of spaetzle egg noodles, with two (2) sides: homemade German/Polish potato pancakes; applesauce. As a side note: Before eating the second batch, my wife and I intentionally stopped at a restaurant that is known for its sauerbraten. Although it was very-very good, the sauerbraten recipe herein is as good or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I have never had sauerbraten before but figured it was would be something new to make and try. I consumed a massive serving of this dish and was incredibly full but the amazing flavor had me grabbing another serving of it and I am already thawing out another roast to make some more. 10/10 would eat until overly full until stomache ache levels again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I was nervous to make this my Oma always was not okay with the sauerbraten recipes that include the gingersnaps. But it was great!!!! Everyone loved it. My fussy uncle said it needed raisins, so maybe I will add those next time. I served with noodles. Oh and I used the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
We loved it! My changes whew red wine and balsamic vinegar, half and half, which is what I had on hand. Gravy thickened beautifully. Served with red cabbage and steamed apples. Will freeze leftovers for holiday visitors. I had chuck roast but will use less fatty cut as suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was our first experience with sauerbraten. The flavours were good but I had a couple of problems. First of all it came out soooo dry. The gravy helped but I don't think gravy should be a rescue. The gingersnaps are supposed to be crumbled. I would say they need to be crushed into bread crumb consistancy. I had some crumbles that were a little too big and it made my gravy lumpy. I had to strain it. It also didn't thicken as I thought it should so I had to add more. I may try this again but try to figure out how to make the meat more tender. Glad we tried it. My apologies for not loving it. Maybe next time. Thanks Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I used brown sugar instead of white and it was very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Chris Simpler this recipe was so tasty delicious!! I followed the recipe to a T but marinated for 5 days & used a crockpot on low for 6 hours for 3lbs of roast & oh goodness was it delicious, I can't wait to make it again. This was the first time I attempted it for my husband who loves sauerbraten & he thought it was better than his mothers (WIN!!) I made the sauerbraten along with Kartoffel Kloesse Potato Dumplings http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Kartoffel-Kloesse-Potato-Dumplings & Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage http://http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Grandma-Jeanettes-Amazing-German-Red-Cabbage [which are also both 5 star recipes] they all complimented each other it was an amazing meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was my first time using this recipe and I'm sooo glad I did. I made a red cabbage side dish with mashed potatoes and I never wanted to stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was amazing! I've never made sauerbraten before, so I was nervous that after waiting for 5 days (that's how long I marinaded it) I wouldn't like it. I shouldn't have worried. My husband and I were both impressed. Incredibly flavorful and the perfect meal on a rainy winter day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe is good for my oral hygiene. I had to brush my teeth right after dinner........sorry I really wanted it to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States