Traditional Sauerbraten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Delicious recipe as written. My Oma's recipe, had the following tiny differences. Marinade: sliced onions, not chopped. She added a crushed clove of garlic, an extra ½ cup of both water & vinegar, used freshly cracked black PEPPERCORNS and added ½ teaspoon WHOLE allspice with the whole cloves and bay leaves. She always said: Keep things big, so straining them out is easier. Oma used a covered crock & a plate to marinate the meat in the ice box (I use a gigantic plastic bag in the fridge, today.) She started sauerbraten marinating on a Monday... made an excellent Sunday dinner with red cabbage, potato dumplings & apple strudel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFWPaul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
the flavor of this gravy is just beyond fantastic. it's peppery and slightly sweet. sooo good. will make this again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I am born and raised in Germany and boooy I miss the good old German kitchen. this did it!! I made a few little changes/adjustments such as increased water and vinegar by a half cup each.. replaced the cookies with flour and a little cold water.. just enough to water it down clumb free.. as well added about a half a cup red wine.. wow this was soooo delicious and loved by wife and picky kids ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
The best. It tasted just like my moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This recipe is perfect. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was a total win. I used the Nabisco Gingersnaps for the gravy, and that made the meal. Have saved this recipe and will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Foell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jolleygirl
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made this sauerbraten with (gluten free) spaetzle and Brussels Sprouts and aspartagus for an early Christmas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was very good in spite of the problems I had with it. I followed it exactly. After two hours of cooking on low on the stove, I smelled it burning and was shocked that most of the liquid was gone. I added some water. When I made the gravy, I am not sure I had enough liquid because the gravy was way too thick after a few minutes on the stove. I had to strain it and then add water. I was worried it had all been ruined, but it tasted good. I would like to try this again, but I would like to try cooking it in the oven or in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is one fantastic recipe for sauerbraten. I made the sauerbraten twice within a period of two (2) weeks. I'm ready to make another batch. The family loves it! The only changes I made were: (1) added about a teaspoon of granulated garlic to the marinate; (2) used chuck roast rather than rump roast due to a cost savings of $1 per pound; (3) strained the solids from the marinate before cooking the beef; (4) "finely chopped" the ginger snap cookies in a food processor, rather than "crumble"; (5) whisked the finely chopped ginger snap cookies in enough water to make a smooth consistency (like mayonnaise); then, added to the marinate when making the gravy; (6) added a few splashes of apple cider vinegar, as necessary, to have plenty of gravy. I served the sauerbraten on a bed of spaetzle egg noodles, with two (2) sides: homemade German/Polish potato pancakes; applesauce. As a side note: Before eating the second batch, my wife and I intentionally stopped at a restaurant that is known for its sauerbraten. Although it was very-very good, the sauerbraten recipe herein is as good or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I have never had sauerbraten before but figured it was would be something new to make and try. I consumed a massive serving of this dish and was incredibly full but the amazing flavor had me grabbing another serving of it and I am already thawing out another roast to make some more. 10/10 would eat until overly full until stomache ache levels again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States