Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
My family LOVED this one!!! It is very light tasting as far as salisbury steak goes and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMMAJAMMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe for a natural salisbury steak. It is worth the prep work for this all natural recipe; no canned items with MSG or other preservatives. Could use just a little salt, otherwise the gravy is very flavorful. My family all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made this tonight and it was a rave! I actually made a couple changes, I used cracker crumbs in place of bread crumbs and a bouillon cube as I did not have granules. I also cooked it for over an hour in the gravy and my family loved it. They asked when I was going to make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Yum yum! Before we were married, my husband used to eat the frozen salisbury steak dinners. Not anymore!! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
OMG...OUTSTANDING!!!!! This was my first attempt at making Salisbury Steak from scratch. Not only was it easy but quick too! For the most part I stuck to the recipe. I used 1 lb of extra lean beef and diced the onion putting half in the meat mixture and the other half in the gravy. I also added 1 TBSP Worcestershire to the meat mixture as I love the taste. It gave me 5 patties slightly larger than the palm of my hand. The trick to keeping the meat from breaking up when in the skillet is to let it cook long enough to form a crust on the bottom of the patty then flip it and it should be just fine. I also doubled the gravy so there would be extra. I had friends over and they all raved over it. This recipe will stay at the top of my list as a new family favorite!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Really easy recipe, turned out great! I added a bit more of each spice and doubled up the gravy and it was a big hit! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy476

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe. The only change I made was to saute some chopped onion & green peppers which I added to the ground beef. I did not use mushrooms in the gravy (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe for Salisbury Steak. Mild and savory in flavor, with tender, moist patties. Although I love spicy foods, this is not a dish I would try to 'spice up'. Salisbury steak is not intended to be heavily spiced. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Excellant and very easy recipe. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
We loved this recipe. I made it with ground venison instead of burger and left off the ketchup and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arbovale, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States