Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
OMG...OUTSTANDING!!!!! This was my first attempt at making Salisbury Steak from scratch. Not only was it easy but quick too! For the most part I stuck to the recipe. I used 1 lb of extra lean beef and diced the onion putting half in the meat mixture and the other half in the gravy. I also added 1 TBSP Worcestershire to the meat mixture as I love the taste. It gave me 5 patties slightly larger than the palm of my hand. The trick to keeping the meat from breaking up when in the skillet is to let it cook long enough to form a crust on the bottom of the patty then flip it and it should be just fine. I also doubled the gravy so there would be extra. I had friends over and they all raved over it. This recipe will stay at the top of my list as a new family favorite!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
My husband had been asking for salisbury steak for a while and I had never made them before and the only other kind he's had are the frozen ones which I think are horrible. So, I went through the recipe and the reviews and it came out really good. I used 1 lb. of lean ground beef and since people had trouble with the patties falling apart I doubled the amount of bread crumbs, added 1 tsp. of minced onion, and 1 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce and made four patties vs. two. After I browned them, only flipping a couple of times I let them rest on a plate with a paper towel to soak up the little bit of oil. I drained the oil from the pan and sauteed the onions, removed them. In the same skillet, I doubled the sauce but left the amount of ketchup at 2 Tbsp. others said the sauce was a bit tangy so I added 2 tsp. of dark brown sugar. This cut the tanginess and gave the sauce a dark brown color. Depending on taste you could add a bit more. I put the patties in an 8x8 baking dish and poured the onions, mushrooms and sauce over them and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was a wonderful base for a recipe. I did make some changes such as leaving out the ketchup completely and using 1 pound of ground beef and making it into 4 patties instead of two. I combined flour, water, 1 beef bullion cube (crushed), and worchestire sauce to make the brown gravy. I made a lot more gravy than the recipe called for because I was also making mashed potatos! I made enough gravy to where it would come up half way on the patties. Just whisk the flour into a little water at a time. It was really good. I also used about a 1/2 sleeve of crushed Club crackers instead of bread crumbs. I always do. Gives it a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made a couple changes to use what I had on hand and to make it a little more flavorful. To the patties, I upped the garlic powder to a full teaspoon and added onion powder, basil and oregano. When I made the gravy, I didn't have bouillion so I used one can Campbell's condensed beef broth. I also added basil and oregano to the gravy and I used fresh mushrooms. My youngest boy especially liked this, I served it over rice just for him as he dosen't like mashed potatoes (I think this would be better over potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a great base recipe to build upon but gravy was too sour for our taste. Perhaps like other reviewers leaving out the kethcup would make this recipe better, but I had already committed to all the ingredients when I made this dish for my famiy recently. So instead, I add a packet of brown gavy mix, a packet of onion soup and dip powder mix, a can of mushroom soup (left out the fresh mushrooms), a teaspoon of sugar and an extra cup of water, adding a bit more as the recipe simmered if needed for desired thickness of gravy. I also double the recipe ingredients to ensure leftovers and made about 8 thinner patties. I am not a fan of re-doing someone's recipe ... kind of defeats the purpose doesn't it? But this recipe is so easy and makes such a warm, wholesome meal, I didn't want to abandon it. So, if you prepare as suggested and the taste isn't quite there for you, here is an alternate suggestion. :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
We liked this, but found the patties to be a bit bland. I made 4 patties, and doubled the gravy (only 2 servings from 3/4 lb beef was too much meat for us). I would make this again, but definitely would season the patties more! I would add some grated onion to the beef next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe for a natural salisbury steak. It is worth the prep work for this all natural recipe; no canned items with MSG or other preservatives. Could use just a little salt, otherwise the gravy is very flavorful. My family all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
We all really enjoyed this. The kids even had seconds. I usually use brown gravy from the packets, as and I didn't have any in my pantry, I tried this recipe and I was pleasantly surprised. One thing I did change up was that I added chopped/minced onions into the ground beef mixture so that the kids would eat them. They ate them up! Also, I doubled the sauce mixture and used half water and half chicken broth just to add some extra flavor. Also used a little less than half of what the beef granules calls for since others have mentioned how salty it was. We will definately make it again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe. The only change I made was to saute some chopped onion & green peppers which I added to the ground beef. I did not use mushrooms in the gravy (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
My son has been after me to make Salisbury as he likes the one at school and we all know its frozen. ok so here we go, this was good. I used 1lb of meat instead of 3/4. I still have enough in the fridge to make hamburgers. I did not have the beef B., don't skip that part or use beef broth for the water. That is what I am going to do next time use low sod beef broth for the water as the beef b. has to much sodium. I also was in a hurry as I had a KID that was very hungry and I missed the step of letting it set in the pan with gravy for 15 min. But he loved it any way. Thanks and this will my go to for us. I served over rice, I know different. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States