Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
We thought the meat needed more seasonings such as maybe a little Greek seasoning added and we just were not fond of the gravy so after tasting the gravy I just made a gravy out of cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 pkg. of dry onion soup adding enough chicken broth for consistency to liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
My family LOVED this one!!! It is very light tasting as far as salisbury steak goes and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMMAJAMMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe for a natural salisbury steak. It is worth the prep work for this all natural recipe; no canned items with MSG or other preservatives. Could use just a little salt, otherwise the gravy is very flavorful. My family all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was a good starting point. I used fresh mushrooms and browned them with the onion in a little butter/olive oil before frying the patties. I did beef up the seasonings in the patties adding some minced onion and spicy grill seasoning. I used beef broth instead of boullion for the gravy. Once it was thickened I returned the veggies and patties to simmer in the pan for a few minutes. We had these with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made this tonight and it was a rave! I actually made a couple changes, I used cracker crumbs in place of bread crumbs and a bouillon cube as I did not have granules. I also cooked it for over an hour in the gravy and my family loved it. They asked when I was going to make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Yum yum! Before we were married, my husband used to eat the frozen salisbury steak dinners. Not anymore!! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
OMG...OUTSTANDING!!!!! This was my first attempt at making Salisbury Steak from scratch. Not only was it easy but quick too! For the most part I stuck to the recipe. I used 1 lb of extra lean beef and diced the onion putting half in the meat mixture and the other half in the gravy. I also added 1 TBSP Worcestershire to the meat mixture as I love the taste. It gave me 5 patties slightly larger than the palm of my hand. The trick to keeping the meat from breaking up when in the skillet is to let it cook long enough to form a crust on the bottom of the patty then flip it and it should be just fine. I also doubled the gravy so there would be extra. I had friends over and they all raved over it. This recipe will stay at the top of my list as a new family favorite!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
We liked this, but found the patties to be a bit bland. I made 4 patties, and doubled the gravy (only 2 servings from 3/4 lb beef was too much meat for us). I would make this again, but definitely would season the patties more! I would add some grated onion to the beef next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Really easy recipe, turned out great! I added a bit more of each spice and doubled up the gravy and it was a big hit! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy476

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe. The only change I made was to saute some chopped onion & green peppers which I added to the ground beef. I did not use mushrooms in the gravy (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States