Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is a really good recipe - it's very similiar to one I already do but we really enjoyed the gravy - the tomato flavor was a nice change - I did add chopped onions to the meat and doubled the amount of gravy - it was very flavorful and my husband said it's a "keeper"! He wants me to make it for friends here in the UK who don't know what a Salisbury Steak is - think they'll quite enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Absolutely delicious recipe. I made it for my extremely picky husband (who usually hates seeing vegetables) who scarfed it down! I loved the gravy but had to make tons extra for potatoes. Also made it for my family when I went to see them and they adored it. Definitely an all-around family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
A good basic recipe, hearty and filling. Next time I will jazz it up with the addition of some red pepper to the meat mix, and perhaps some chili tomatoes or salsa to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
made as-is , but without the mushrooms. Quadrupled the recipe for a family of 5, and had only a little bit of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I liked that this didn't use canned soup. We are trying to get away from MSG and preservatives etc. in foods. I doubled the recipe for extra gravy, added a couple more tablespoons of catsup, a little extra worchestershire, pepper and salt. Very good flavor! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My husband loved it. I used a whole lb of ground beef and added extra bread crumbs and a little milk to compensate. I also used fresh mushrooms and garlic. Will make again, but don't think I'll add the ketchup next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
OMG!!! Easy & yummy! This recipe is a keeper. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I changed the serving amount to fit my family of 5 and made the patties as the recipe states and the poured the sauce over the patties and baked them in the oven. Came out so tender and good! Kids and hubby enjoyed, made with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans...yummy! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yummy! This recipe makes the best tasting sauce. The only changes I made were to add a stalk of chopped celery and to use fresh mushrooms, which I browned with the onion after I browned the beef. I also used 8 oz beef broth instead of the water and bouillon. There was plenty of delicious sauce to serve over mashed potatoes. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
yum! i doubled the gravy and used fresh mushrooms. i used cube steak and it was too chewy. (i won't do that again). otherwise it was delicious. the gravy was so good that my 2 year old ate all the veges that got caught in it. definitely in the rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States