Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I'm happy to see that other reviewers want recipes that don't include canned soups and prepared condiments with their excessive salt, sugar and preservatives. I look for recipes without them and make only these unless I can improvise. This recipe is easy, delicious and my idea of traditional salisbury steak. Everyone enjoyed it and I was able to serve it to diners who are gluten-intolerant. Mashed potatoes and fresh vegetables are fine accompaniments. I made extra gravy too for the mashed potatoes. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Was easy to prepare and follow directions. All six of my kids loved it! I did adjust the recipe to feed more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe!!! My husband loved this recipe! SO SO YUMMY! I followed the directions except i added onion and green peppers to the patties also and put the onion in the gravy also! very good thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I put my husband in charge of dinner for the night and he chose to make this. It is terrific! I love that it does not use any condensed soups. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
MY first time making salisbury steak, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This is a great Salisbury steak recipe. I do it exactly as written and it works for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daushaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Loved it! I didn't really go by any of the measurements that were listed, I just proportioned everything to taste. I ended up using crushed ritz crackers for my bread crumbs, I used a whole package, so I then ended up using 2 eggs instead of 1. I used a whole lb of beef, and I used beef bouillon cubes (2) instead of granules b/c I couldn't find granules? I omited the mushrooms b/c I don't like them. And I added brown sugar to the sauce (a tip from another user). I also carmelized some sliced onions to put over the top, and made extra gravy for potatoes. It turned out wonderful! Next time I think I may omit the brown sugar, just to try it without the sweet consistency. Oh, and it made 4 large patties. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I really did not care for the sauce, I found it to ketchup tasting. I did make some additions to the burgers. I added some steak spice and some roasted repper and garlics spice. Burgers turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was okay. Not what I was looking for, but my family liked it and they ate it, which is always a small miracle. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Wow! This was really good! I took one reviewers advice and added some steak sauce to the gravy and put the onion in the patties because of personal preference, but otherwise followed the recipe. With 2 lbs of ground beef, I made 10 patties. Definitely double the gravy recipe if serving with mashed potatoes! I had to add some gravy to make enough. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States