Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Read most of the reviews and adjusted, accordingly. Baked in oven for 35 minutes to'finish'. Gravy should be doubled to cover potatoes or rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I loved this recipe & like many others who posted reviews I made extra gravy to go with mashed potatoes. Also to the meat mixture I added 1/2 teaspoon of Mrs Dash to add a bit more flavor. Excellent recipe & directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jojaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
The meat was good but I didnt like the sauce at all. Very ketchupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was very good! I was out of eggs and they came out just fine. I didn't have the Worcestershire sauce so I used just a tsp of soy sauce. Everything else was done the same and I will definitely be making these again. I made 5 patties without changing the amounts of the ingredients. The gravy was not thick and delicious. This was my first time making salisbury steaks, they were super easy and quick. The same time it takes to put the frozen ones in the oven. I was lost when it came to the oil that was left over in the pan after browning the meat because the meat produced some juices. I left it in the pan and added the gravy ingredients right in. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
We did not care for this at all! Not the patties or the gravy. Made recipe per instructions and just didn't like it. The gravy had a very odd tangy flavor. The patties were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Biggest changes I made were I used a bunch of fresh mushrooms (no need to use canned), italian seasoned bread crumbs, a shallot instead of a regular onion, and while the meat was cooking I threw in some minced garlic. The steak was good but it was like a mini meatloaf. I would add onions to the meat mixture and maybe more seasonings next time to give it more flavor. The gravy is good (I doubled the recipe) but it's not perfect. There's a tang to it (even though I added brown sugar to reduce the tang). Next time I think I will use 3 tbsp of ketchup instead of 4. My boyfriend loved the gravy as is but I want to play around with it some more. I served this with rice and peas (unusual, but I was too lazy to make mashed potatoes). My boyfriend loved this dinner and he said the leftovers were even better today. All in all I think this is a very good recipe but the gravy will need tweaking to suit your taste. Next time I will make it with regular onions and use less ketchup and add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Did not like will not make again my hubby callled it mini meatloaf.... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this last week and loved it. Served with mashed potatoes and was in comfort food heaven. I substituted canned beef broth for the water/bouillon combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by immer-sonnig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Used gr turkey b/c I don't eat beef, that was the only change. This rating is on behalf of my husband as he likes salisbury steak and I am not really a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good, but the gravy is lacking something. It needs a bit of a kick...a little on the bland side as written. I'll play around with it next time. Also, needed an extra 1/4 cup of water in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States