Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this today...changed a bit, used fresh cremini mushrooms, no oil, no flour...used lo-sodium beef broth for gravy base & mixed cornstarch for thickening...no Worcestershire either as I was limiting salt...it was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
We love this recipe!! I don't usually don't add the mushrooms because dh dosen't like them. But when I do, I use fresh mushrooms, YUM!! Also, I usually use fresh garlic in the meat mixture. I've actually been making this particular recipe for about a year now, it is one of my go to's for the family and they are never disappointed when they ask "what's for dinner tonight?".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
it was definitely too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
i used a full pound of ground beef and so i added more breadcrumbs about a heavy quarter cup. i used roasted garlic breadcrumbs and i didnt have the mushrooms. these were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Loved this recipe. I've never made salisbury steaks before, and this was excellent. I adapted the recipe to 1# gr. sirloin, and didn't have any mushrooms. So, I used an electric food chopper to mince one small onion, rough chop a can of well drained stewed tomatoes which I used in place of the mushrooms, in the gravy and in the patties, and I also used the chopper to make fresh breadcrumbs. I took another reviewer's advice and added a tbsp of brown sugar. It ended with a savory brown sauce, and a light patty.. very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
First time making Salisbury steak definitely better than anything you can buy from the store. I did adjust the seasonings a little to my families preferences, but overall I kept the recipe the same and my entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made a couple changes to use what I had on hand and to make it a little more flavorful. To the patties, I upped the garlic powder to a full teaspoon and added onion powder, basil and oregano. When I made the gravy, I didn't have bouillion so I used one can Campbell's condensed beef broth. I also added basil and oregano to the gravy and I used fresh mushrooms. My youngest boy especially liked this, I served it over rice just for him as he dosen't like mashed potatoes (I think this would be better over potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ok_songbird
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I've made this several times, and it's always a pleaser! Great recipe, and yes; comfort food to the maxx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good - my whole family liked it - used cream of mushroom soup. Have made it several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Read most of the reviews and adjusted, accordingly. Baked in oven for 35 minutes to'finish'. Gravy should be doubled to cover potatoes or rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States