Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this today...changed a bit, used fresh cremini mushrooms, no oil, no flour...used lo-sodium beef broth for gravy base & mixed cornstarch for thickening...no Worcestershire either as I was limiting salt...it was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
We love this recipe!! I don't usually don't add the mushrooms because dh dosen't like them. But when I do, I use fresh mushrooms, YUM!! Also, I usually use fresh garlic in the meat mixture. I've actually been making this particular recipe for about a year now, it is one of my go to's for the family and they are never disappointed when they ask "what's for dinner tonight?".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
it was definitely too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
i used a full pound of ground beef and so i added more breadcrumbs about a heavy quarter cup. i used roasted garlic breadcrumbs and i didnt have the mushrooms. these were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Loved this recipe. I've never made salisbury steaks before, and this was excellent. I adapted the recipe to 1# gr. sirloin, and didn't have any mushrooms. So, I used an electric food chopper to mince one small onion, rough chop a can of well drained stewed tomatoes which I used in place of the mushrooms, in the gravy and in the patties, and I also used the chopper to make fresh breadcrumbs. I took another reviewer's advice and added a tbsp of brown sugar. It ended with a savory brown sauce, and a light patty.. very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
First time making Salisbury steak definitely better than anything you can buy from the store. I did adjust the seasonings a little to my families preferences, but overall I kept the recipe the same and my entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made a couple changes to use what I had on hand and to make it a little more flavorful. To the patties, I upped the garlic powder to a full teaspoon and added onion powder, basil and oregano. When I made the gravy, I didn't have bouillion so I used one can Campbell's condensed beef broth. I also added basil and oregano to the gravy and I used fresh mushrooms. My youngest boy especially liked this, I served it over rice just for him as he dosen't like mashed potatoes (I think this would be better over potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ok_songbird
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I've made this several times, and it's always a pleaser! Great recipe, and yes; comfort food to the maxx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good - my whole family liked it - used cream of mushroom soup. Have made it several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Read most of the reviews and adjusted, accordingly. Baked in oven for 35 minutes to'finish'. Gravy should be doubled to cover potatoes or rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States