Traditional Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner but I needed 3 steaks, so I doubled the sauce. I knew I would want some additional gravy for mashed potatoes. I also made asparagus with it. My family loved it. I did substitute the flour added to the sauce with brown gravy powder. I think it gave it additional flavor. No flour or beef bullion was added to the sauce because of the brown gravy substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I used one teaspoon of garlic powder and added a little basil to the meat. I also used a whole pound of meat. I added a little extra water to my sauce cause I had four patties instead of two. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Lol, I just realized I forgot the ketchup! Well, next time:) Oh yes, there will be a next time. My hubby loves Salsbury S. I did use a short cut and added a package of onion soup mix. I gave the beef a good dousing of Worcestershire sauce and some smoked paprika. Only fresh sauted mushrooms for this Chick! The kids gave it 2 thumbs UP! Served over homemade mashed tatoes. Yum! Than You Naomi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Loved it !!!! This was my first attempt at making Salisbury steak. I stuck to the recipe exactly but after finishing the sauce it was a bit to bitter so I added a can of brown gravy I had and it was amazing! Will definitively make it again but will make 4 thinner patties instead of 2 thick ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deniseksweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
My first try at making salisbury steaks and they were delicious. Next time I'm going to cut the garlic back a little and put in some onion powder too. I did saute the onions beforehand and put them in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The gravy was too sweet for us because of the ketchup. I have since made this without the ketchup and it was excellent. I wasn't very good at making gravy until I came across this recipe. Now it is my go to gravy recipe! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was very good. It needs a little salt or extra spices, but very good recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Absolutely wonderful. Only thing I did different was finish cooking in the oven and skipped the mushrooms just because of family dislike. four out of five of this loved this. The one that didn't really does not eat much meat, so her voted doesm't really count. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Tonight was my 2nd time using this recipe. My husband said,"I have never had salisbury steak taste so good!"The first time I followed the directions exactly. Tonight I used a green bell pepper in place of the onion(I was out)). Oh my goodness,We enjoyed this dish even better than with the onion. It is a simple yet very tasty entree. Thank you for posting. This will be a staple dinner from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taraadin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
FOLLOWED THIS RECIPE TO A "T" AND TURNED OUT REALLY GOOD. MY HUSBAND HAD ASK ME TO TRY THIS FOR SOME TIME, VERY GLAD I DID. THANKS, NAOMI OLSON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States