Traditional Russian Pirozhki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I used whole wheat flour instead of AP flour, and soy milk instead of cow's milk for the dough. I added dill seeds for extra flavor in the filling! These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nastia
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I'm having a huge Russian dinner tonight and I was looking for a good recipe for Pirozhki. I scanned a lot of websites, including some in Russian and I changed the recipe a little bit according what I found and I used food processor for making the dough: I used 2 eggs, reduced milk to 1 and 3/4 cups and used 1.5 packages of active dry yeast. I put 5 cups of flour to the food processor, added salt, run it for a couple of seconds (I use dough blade and speed), added butter and run it again for a couple of seconds. I dissolved yeast in the milk with sugar, after 10 min I added two eggs, slightly bitten to the yeast mixture. Turned on my food processor and slowly added the yeast mixture, let it run for a minute and slowly added about 1/2 cups of flour (as much as needed to form elastic and non sticky dough). I let it raise around 1.5 hours and made pirozhki, I let the pirozhki to rise for 20-25 min, brushed with egg and baked them for 20 min on 400F... These turned out great - soft and fluffy... Be sure not to make the dough too thin. I'm sure that the original recipe is also good, but I changed it according to the "Russian sources". Good luck - pirozhki is a great food, especially shared with friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kandy85
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Thank you for the recipe! I have been trying to find this recipe for 2 years now.. My Russian boyfriend is needless to say, very happy! He says they are "Just like Mommas!" I followed the recipe exactly, everything worked out great. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kandy85

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out GREAT!!! I took them to the neighborhood's monthly dinner, this month it was Russian, and everyone loved them! Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
The dish know as Pirozhki was somewhat decent but rather plane. I thought that there needed to be more salt. Overall it wasn't as good as I expected and would not recommend having unless for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JP
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Great recipe... thank you very much. Nevertheless they didnt taste like my grannys ones.. i thinks coz its my first time and she is already profi ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JP
Home Town: Panama, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Osnabrück, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Not bad (love the filling) but definitely needs the egg yolk glaze before baking. Mine looked rather dull and unappetising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
We made this for a Russian themed dinner party and it was a big hit! Brushing the pirozhki with egg yolk before cooking was a great tip - made them look very appetizing. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by artmilko
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
THANK you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
next time I need to try different fillings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States