Traditional Russian Pirozhki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I followed the instructions to the letter, and they came out perfect. I can't wait to make them again, and experiment with different kinds of fillings. Thank you so much, Mariasaurus! ??????? ???????! Spasibo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I like to put mashed potatoes in it instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Oh my gosh! I have traveled to Russia many times and watched them make this recipe and wanted the recipe. These are absolutely delicious and taste every bit as good as I remember them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deenie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Awesome. Used saurkraut. Next time I will remember to warm the milk before adding yeast. Probably will be more fluffy. I loved them. Kids did, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Almanzo Wilder
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
i haven't tried the recipe yet but im sure it's goin to be delicious. My parents usually fry those but the baked version is probably healthier. I have some suggestions for the filling. Cut up some hard boiled eggs and green onios and mix it all together plus season it with salt and pepper. Thats my favorite filling. Also mashed potatoes with some white onion is really good. But dont use the mashed potatoes from the package. I think they are not thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHATScooking4DINNER
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I'm Russian as well and make pirozhki pretty much the same way. Here is what I do differently: I rub shredded cabbage with garlic salt in a large pot, and then pour boiling water over the cabbage covering completely. Boil the mixture until soft, usually around 15 min. Take the pot off the heat, drain the cabbage and return it to the pot, add spices, .5 to 1 spoon of butter(I use Smart Balance butter or other butter made with olive oil), and the eggs. Also, after pinching the end together, I turn piroshok so that the pinched ends are on the bottom rather than on the side. It helps to keep not-so-well-pinched pirozhkis closed during baking and creates a nice symmetric shape. :) After placing the pirozhki on the baking sheet, I let the dough rise just a little. Right before baking, I brush them with beaten egg yolk for glowing smooth look when ready. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rex
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
it IS my recipe! ;-). i would definitly reccomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I am so glad to find this recipe, a friend requested me to find this and make them for her husband. I believe his mother used to make them. My friend is blind, but now I can make them for the both of them, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gasquet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I don't usually do too well with baking, but this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Delicious, plain or with some mustard! I'd never had or heard of these before, but I'm glad I tried them out. I was a little surprised the directions didn't say to knead the dough, but I followed the recipe & didn't knead it--sure enough, it turned out great (and that made the recipe that much easier to do!). I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States