Traditional Russian Pirozhki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WHATScooking4DINNER
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I'm Russian as well and make pirozhki pretty much the same way. Here is what I do differently: I rub shredded cabbage with garlic salt in a large pot, and then pour boiling water over the cabbage covering completely. Boil the mixture until soft, usually around 15 min. Take the pot off the heat, drain the cabbage and return it to the pot, add spices, .5 to 1 spoon of butter(I use Smart Balance butter or other butter made with olive oil), and the eggs. Also, after pinching the end together, I turn piroshok so that the pinched ends are on the bottom rather than on the side. It helps to keep not-so-well-pinched pirozhkis closed during baking and creates a nice symmetric shape. :) After placing the pirozhki on the baking sheet, I let the dough rise just a little. Right before baking, I brush them with beaten egg yolk for glowing smooth look when ready. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I love this recipe, just like all other russian children, I grew up eating these! I also fry onions in olive oil until they are golden and sometimes a little bit burnt and add them to mashed potatoes, if you use the oil from frying the onions then you really dont need to add milk or butter whem mashing the potatoes. Another filling is sour cherries, i don't think anyone mentioned that, from what i know the traditional fillings for pirozhki that you can buy at a russian store is meat, potatoes, cabbage, or cherries, sometimes i'll also add 18% fat cottage cheese with a little of my favorite (or whatever i have in the pantry) jam inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe is wonderful and a real crowd pleaser. My Russian Mother in law loved these. I recommend brushing them with egg yolk just before putting them in the oven for that professional, golden color and shininess. Also, it is very traditional to add cooked white rice with the filling or mashed potatoes. The salt and pepper are key in the filling; too little is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Ok..I cannot BEGIN to tell you how awsome this bread is! You simply CANT mess it up...And believe me I did some pretty dumb things this time but the bread just rolled its eyes at me and thought to itself..."looks like Im on my own!" I thought for sure it would just be a train wreck but low and behold it was superfabuloso!! For you novices out there this is the recipe for you. And dont let it fool you. I had some leftover dough and filled it with roastbeef rice and cheese and some seasoning on it was a mouth wattering experience!! You can stuff this bread with anything...use your imagination, and go wild!~ thank-you,thank-you thank-you mariasaurus Rex!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Delicious, plain or with some mustard! I'd never had or heard of these before, but I'm glad I tried them out. I was a little surprised the directions didn't say to knead the dough, but I followed the recipe & didn't knead it--sure enough, it turned out great (and that made the recipe that much easier to do!). I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nastia
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I'm having a huge Russian dinner tonight and I was looking for a good recipe for Pirozhki. I scanned a lot of websites, including some in Russian and I changed the recipe a little bit according what I found and I used food processor for making the dough: I used 2 eggs, reduced milk to 1 and 3/4 cups and used 1.5 packages of active dry yeast. I put 5 cups of flour to the food processor, added salt, run it for a couple of seconds (I use dough blade and speed), added butter and run it again for a couple of seconds. I dissolved yeast in the milk with sugar, after 10 min I added two eggs, slightly bitten to the yeast mixture. Turned on my food processor and slowly added the yeast mixture, let it run for a minute and slowly added about 1/2 cups of flour (as much as needed to form elastic and non sticky dough). I let it raise around 1.5 hours and made pirozhki, I let the pirozhki to rise for 20-25 min, brushed with egg and baked them for 20 min on 400F... These turned out great - soft and fluffy... Be sure not to make the dough too thin. I'm sure that the original recipe is also good, but I changed it according to the "Russian sources". Good luck - pirozhki is a great food, especially shared with friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This sounds delicious and reminds me of German Bierocks which I used to get in Kansas. The difference is that Bierocks don't usually use hard boiled eggs in the filling, but use cabbage and ground meat. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I like to put mashed potatoes in it instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I am so glad to find this recipe, a friend requested me to find this and make them for her husband. I believe his mother used to make them. My friend is blind, but now I can make them for the both of them, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gasquet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
If you liked cooked cabbage then this is for you. If not, try making some cheese bourekas instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States