Traditional Russian Pirozhki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
The bread seemed a little bland, but it was pretty good! Make sure you don't mix the eggs up like i did... putting the hard boiled eggs with the dough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I love these. I see that the cabbage filling is quite different from how my mother/family makes it. I just though i would share. My mother shreds the cabbage, dices some onions and grates some carrots. She sautes the onions and carrots until slightly golden and translucent. Sometimes she adds meat and she fries the meat before the onion and garlic and then she adds after it has cooked a little bit. After the onions and carrots are ready she tosses in the cabbage and sautes it all together just until the cabbage is slightly cooked. Then she adds tomato sauce and lets it all simmer for a few minutes until the cabbage is fully cooked but not too mooshy or too soft just give it a taste and test it. It is very delicious when added to the pirozhki. Give this a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliya Belousova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I thought these were pretty bland even with the eggs/cabbage being salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
So glad to have found this yummy recipe! I altered it to make it taste like the pirozhki's I have had at the Bite of Seattle... include ground meat, and a cheddar cheese square in each "pouch.", omitted the egg, just a very little cabbage. Next time, I will try the traditional version, to see what that is like. Used an egg wash (beaten egg with a little water) to paint on before baking...came out shiny and pretty! I also halved the recipe...still made 15!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
If you liked cooked cabbage then this is for you. If not, try making some cheese bourekas instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rexi
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! This recipe was soooo good, I'll definitely save it. I was almost out of all purpose flour so I used bread flour instead. I also used an egg wash to make it shiny. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
rocky liked this. 1st time I went heavy w/ the cabbage. Next time I will use meat, carrots and onions (cabbage bakes up kind of bitter). Do use an egg yolk wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Ok..I cannot BEGIN to tell you how awsome this bread is! You simply CANT mess it up...And believe me I did some pretty dumb things this time but the bread just rolled its eyes at me and thought to itself..."looks like Im on my own!" I thought for sure it would just be a train wreck but low and behold it was superfabuloso!! For you novices out there this is the recipe for you. And dont let it fool you. I had some leftover dough and filled it with roastbeef rice and cheese and some seasoning on it was a mouth wattering experience!! You can stuff this bread with anything...use your imagination, and go wild!~ thank-you,thank-you thank-you mariasaurus Rex!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
You can try to make pirozki with any filling: mashed potatoes, mashed potatoes and mushrooms, eggs and green onion, ground beef, or sweet filling, they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This sounds delicious and reminds me of German Bierocks which I used to get in Kansas. The difference is that Bierocks don't usually use hard boiled eggs in the filling, but use cabbage and ground meat. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States