Traditional Russian Pirozhki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kara
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
The dough was perfect, i enjoyed working with it, but the feeling was plain. I made another round with mushrooms and onions, turned great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
OUTSTANDING! My mom used to make these several times through out the year. She would leave a bowl of them sitting on the stove so dad and us kids could just grab one on our way out the door. These taste exactly like hers, which I haven had since she passed away when I was 17, some 40 years ago, and took the recipe with her. I can't thank you enough,Rex,for sharing this recipe. The first time I tasted one I cried, it brought back such wonderful memories. BTW - They are also really good made with the traditional potato filling used in boiled/pan fried perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I'm really eager to try these, they look amazing. I was wondering, could i make these with sausage or hot dog for stuffing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artemis Dm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
We fried sauerkraut and bacon up to use as filling. They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good recipe. Followed to the letter and my wife, who was born in Russia, approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Pirozhki turned out really nice - I am Ukrainian and these are the way I remember them. Before I left the dough to rise, I pat it with some vegetable oil to prevent drying out. My two fillings were: fried onions and ground beef; feta and spinach with a dash of nutmeg. I brushed the tops with a yolk beaten with a bit of water and my pirozhki were ready on 180C in 25 minutes. Vkusno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
The breading on this is very good!! I give that part 5 stars! I like to fill my Pirozhki with cabbage, ground pork, green onions, and skinny long rice noodles. I fry up all the filling ingredients first and then stuff the Pirozhki and bake it. This way you get a whole yummy meal in one bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Good ++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I made these a few weeks ago. They were easy to make and froze well. I'm anxious to try different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States