Traditional Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I made this in 2 8x8 pans, one for us and one for a friend. This was a huge hit! Absolutely wonderful as is, no adjustments necessary. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Awesome and easy. The store was out of sliced corn beef, so I used canned. I also used the bavarian sauerkraut because it has a great punch of flavor. We have already shared this recipe several times and everyone loves it! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Good overall concept. My husband loved it even with my changes. Tried to lighten up this recipe by omitting butter and sour cream. Made my own 1K island with light mayo, ketchup, and relish--used 2 C dressing total. Added 1C beef broth (my husband hates dry casseroles and they have to heat up well for his lunches). Only thing I found objectionable about this dish was that the onion was not cooked down sufficiently for my tastes. Will make again, but I am going to use more onion, Carmelize it (oil, sugar and onion in a lidded pan on low), add a little flour for a roux and add a full 15oz can of beef broth for a thin oniony gravy. Hoping if done in this manner will make the texture a little more silky. May also add a few caraway seeds, would have liked the rye flavor to be a bit stronger. Sprayed bottom of my pan as well, and Used 1lb loaf of swirl rye bread split between top and bottom, torn in little pieces. Layered ingredients in the middle, squeezed out the kraut. Held back some cheese to put on top of the bread--was a little crunch here and there, and my husband got his moist casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Love it! Is it ok to share on face book do my friends can see it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was very good. Jeremy of course didn't like it but instead of a reuben sandwich it was very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Really like this one for a cool Fall dinner! Even the teen liked it. If the dressing mix is too much, just reduce it a bit - no biggie. I didn't cube the bread, just tore it into pieces, and you know what - turned out fine. This is a lovely, no-brainer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
When it was fresh and I was absolutely starving, I really liked it. But the next day, when I was hungry-ish and I reheated it as leftovers, I couldn't deal with it. Too greasy and heavy. Problematic, since the recipe makes so much. I'd probably make it again, but I'd at least halve the recipe so as not to have to pitch leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Cut the recipe in half and it still made plenty for my family of 5. Only thing I would do differently next time is maybe use a little less of the sour cream and thousand island mixture, I felt like there was too much dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
just okay. It was too rich for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Made this for supper tonight and is was fantastic! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States