Traditional Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I'm not a real big reuben fan but this was great! I made this for my husband's carry-in at work, and they loved it! I just made a few modifications to the recipe. One, I put the sauerkraut on the bottom and omitted the bread cubes, but put extra on top. We used canned corned beef instead of deli style and it did excellent in this recipe, and a cost saver also! I made this the night before and thought with all the sitting, and early morning cooking (5am) that the bottom cubed bread would have gotten really soggy. They loved this recipe at work, it really went fast. The next time I make this I would reduce the dressing to 1 cup (8 oz) and mix with the sour cream. Even straining the sauerkraut really well and wringing it, there was a bit too much liquid in the bottom, but everyone loved this casserole! Super on a cold winter's day at work! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was terrific! I did make some major changes though because I didn't have any bread or sauerkraut. Instead, I sliced baked potatoes for the bottom layer. Also, I added brussels sprouts, broccoli and cauliflower instead of sauerkraut. I'm sure it would be great with the original ingredients too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Since I detest Reubens, but the rest of my family loves 'em, I thought I would try it.My husband and kids really liked this one. The only thing they all agreed on would be to add more of the thousand island mixture next time. It apparently made a good lunch the next day around, as my husband said it heated up well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I've made this recipe a few times now. I don't eat meat...but, my boyfriend begs me to make it. He simply loves the classic reuben done this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This was good but there is WAY too much bread, next time I would leave off the bread topping alltogether. If you love a good reuben, you will enjoy this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I have made this a few times, twice for potluck, and it was very well received. I have had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cromwell, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Pretty good but probably could have done without so much of the ingredients. Next time I will cut down a little, especially on the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was delicious. I cut the recipe in half (although I still had to use more bread) and it still made a large pan. Have enough leftovers for 2 more nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Awesome! Followed the directions exactly and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Yes, it's rich--but so are the traditional sandwiches. I cut this recipe in half and baked in a 9 x 9 dish--turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States