Traditional Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Fabulous! I scaled the recipe to six servings, but that was the only change made, other than using those round rye and pumpernickel loaves rather than pre-sliced bread. This was awesome, I cannot heap enough praise on this recipe. My seven year old wouldn't eat it, but all the rest of us loved it. I will make this again and again. I also think it would make a killer dip, with the corned beef shredded and all the filling baked in a round pumpernickel loaf and served with toasted party rye rounds. My compliments to your husband's aunt, Aveyed, and to you for passing this along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Yummy! I made the recipe as is - except I reduced the meat to 3/4 pound - and had the deli shred/slice it for me real thin instead of cutting it into bite-size pieces myself. Left the rest the same and the whole family raved over it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was pretty good. I used another recipe from this site to cook my corned beef prior. It is the Corned Beef and Cabbage II recipe--which I highly recommend. I used only light Rye bread, that's all I could find. I think I needed a stronger flavor of Rye than what I used. I used fat free thousand island & I don't recommend that. I think it needs more flavor from the dressing than the fat free offers. I did, however, use the light sour cream and would do that again. This dish tasted much better as leftovers. I will make this again with using darker rye and thousand island with some fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used a bit more bread but we loved this. Kind of changed things up than the regular ruebens. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Thank you! Tastes like a Big Mac. Yum. Instead of using 2 different breads I used the Pepperidge Farm Rye/Pumpernickle Swirl Bread and layered the ingredients: bread, kraut, beef, dressing, cheese, repeat. Fantastic! Although I haven't tried it, I'm sure this recipe would be good using chicken and light dressing to cut a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this for dinner last evening, and made a couple of substitutions. I substituted fat free sour cream and fat free thousand Island dressing for a lighter fare. I also used PAM on the baking dish and used real butter (better for you than margarine). I also used strictly light rye bread cubes. The recipe came out great and it was actually healthier than the original. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was fantastic!!!!! I toasted the bread prior assembling the casserole and it did not get soggy at all. I also decrease the amount of swiss cheese to 2 cups. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly and was very happy with the results. This will definitely become one of our regular recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Swedesboro, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Delicious.. I got many compliments on the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
my fiance gave it 2 thumbs-up....10 out of 10... 5 stars :) YUMMY YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is the best reuben casserole I've ever made. I love the cubes of dark rye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States