Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
All of the pitas puffed up nicely for me. I used 1/3 AP flour, 1/3 whole wheat flour and 1/3 spelt flour. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very easy to make quick and simple. I didn't need to make any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These are great! I ate one when it was still warm and it was delicious. They taste so much better than the ones I buy. My husband loved them. He takes them to work to make pita bread pizzas. In fact Im making them again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I had the same issue as another cook... mine rose but no pocket. It was more like a hard crusted dinner roll. My family didnt complain but I was looking forward to pitas for falafels. Im pretty sure the issue is completely my own fault considering Im new to bread making and when it said roll into 5 inch circles I rolled it like you would to make a round bread loaf >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These are good, but next time, I might cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The taste is alright, but I had problems with the rising. I think the instruction should state that you need to grease the tray in which you place the 5" circles for the rise. I had placed mine in an ungreased tray and the dough stuck to the tray and I had a hard time trying to get them out without destroying the circles... :( But other than that, it went ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
EASY! Delicious! I would recommend this recipe to all of my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
My pitas unfortunately didn't puff, but I was able to slice them and turn them into pita chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Tastes like baked dough and not every pocket puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I just pulled these out of the oven and every single pita puffed and has a perfect pocket. They are a bit "chewy" but perfect for stuffing with sandwhich fixings, which is what I was looking for. I mixed in my stand mixer and did flip before baking, baked for 6 minutes on greased cookie sheets and had 100% success. I had just made whole wheat pitas the prior day and they were hard and had only partial pockets. Will try 1/2 and 1/2 mix of flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States