Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe, though chicken broth is typically used. I had in my freezer some excellent homemade chicken stock and I used that with the white wine. I always salt and pepper the shanks before dusting with flour, and I grate the carrots and allow them to carmelize with the onion and garlic. This is a great do-ahead meal. I just made it for a sit-down dinner party for 12, served with a rustic mash of yukon gold potatoes, cauliflower and leeks, alongside a hearty vegetable salad and bread. We had a choice of Rioja, Cotes-du-Rhone and Malbec wines. A perfect birthday dinner for a dear friend. You and your guests will be thrilled with the results of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I loved the sauce part of this dish but I think it would have been better to sear the veal with salt and pepper rather than just flour. It really helps more than just seasoning it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used a crock pot and set it on low for 4 hours. Boiled some potatoes and served the sauce on the potatoes. Some special bread and enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clancy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
No veal shanks available at the market so I used beef shanks. Made this a day ahead and re-heated for dinner. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Oh soooo good. Followed the recipe pretty closely with a couple very small tweaks... Added salt and pepper to the flour I dusted the shanks with and added a couple bay leaves when the stock and tomatoes (petite diced) went in. Served with homemade risotto and roasted aspargus. This is a top shelf meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Mmm Good! Made this exactly according to the recipe and it received rave reviews! Do heed the advice of other reviewers that said it tastes better the next day and be sure to make yours ahead. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Tasty - a nice, rich sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Veal shanks are hard to find and pricey so I substituted Beef shanks. Otherwise everything was pretty much the way the recipe directs. It was so tender and the marrow adds so much beefiness to the flavor . I served it on a bed of rice and nothing else. It was killer. I made enough for ten people and Everyone wanted to know how to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
awesome and easy, thanks for a great recipe, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States