Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
WOW! Hubby loves Osso Buco and when I made this, he said it was better than going out!!! Thank you for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
They were out of veal at the supermarket, so we substituted some thinly-cut (half-inch) top sirloin steaks (the guy at the meat counter will usually cut steaks to desired thickness). It worked magically, although next time I might try 3/4 inch cuts, as these were on the border of falling apart (melt-in-your-mouth). Still, the flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as written but didn't get a great outcome. My veal seemed a little overcooked while the carrots seemed a little undercooked. Next time I will try to cut the shank into thicker pieces and the carrot into thinner pieces perhaps? Good flavor though, will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was a great recipe. I followed it precisely. Only difference I added some mushrooms and reduced the gravy a little before serving. Boiled rice completed a very yummy and satisfying meal. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I tried this recipe as written the first time and I have to admit it was very good, however when I mentioned it to a friend of Italian ancestry he suggested instead of butter, I brown the shanks in pancetta fat. I chopped up about a 1/4 lb. of pancetta, fried it, removed it from the pan, drained off all but about 2 tbls of the fat and browned the shanks. I removed the shanks and used the same fat to saute the onions, added the wine and deglazed the pan. I added the previously fried pancetta with the other ingredients. I know it's not as healthy but it was absolutely delicious. The one thing he told me was, do not subsitute bacon, it has to be pancetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I tried this recipe using skinless chicken thighs instead of the veal. Though not traditional, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe was extremely easy to follow and tasted great. I followed it to the letter and we all loved it. The meat was super succulent and the sauce was delicious. I agree with other posters that it tastes even better the next day, but it is still the best I have ever tasted when eaten the same day as prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
WOW! This came out amazing. I uesed white wine (I had this on hand) and Veal Cutlets with no bones. The veal was very tender. My boyfriend loved this and said it tasted better the following day. I will be making this again next week when my daughter comes home to visit! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cajun Jason
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was outstanding. I'm a huge Osso Bucco fan. I don't usually do this, but I followed this recipe to the letter and it was excellent. I will be making it again and I'm not changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iota, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is by far one of the easiest and best Osso Buco recipes I've ever made. Quick, simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States