Traditional Mexican Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
YUM! I love fresh guacamole and this recipe is right on. I didn't change a thing. I used two roma tomatoes to get roughly 1 cup chopped tomatoes and about 1/4 of a sweet vidalia onion to get 1/4 cup chopped onion. I used one chopped, seeded jalapeño which gave it a mild spiciness in my opinion. Next time I might add one more jalapeño as I like a medium spice level. Thanks Kaersten for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I am just trying it! What a great taste. Big thumbs-up from my husband. I didn't have fresh jalapenos on hand, so used a jar of pickled jalapenos. For fresh tomatoes, same thing; used a can of diced tamatoes. It was just great. I first put usual pepper but saw the black ground pepper notation and added that to the mix. What a difference it makes! Sadly no more chips to scoop it up! This one will go into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is a perfect guacamole recipe as far as my family is concerned. The blend of these ingredients is spot on. I used roma tomatoes as they are less juicy and I used 2 jalapenos, one seeded and one with seeds to give it a little kick. I served this with 'Vegetable Quesadillas and Shrimp Quesadillas' from this site. Great recipe Kaersten, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I do have a tried and true, favorite way to make guacamole but boredom set in and I wanted to try something new. I resisted the temptation to add the things to this recipe that I’m so familiar with doing, trying to stay true to the recipe. But I just had to cut back on the tomatoes; a full cup for two little old avocados seemed more like salsa! So I did reduce the tomatoes to just a half cup and I’m sure I didn’t add as much onion or cilantro as called for either. I stuck to the remainder of the recipe faithfully and took the submitter’s suggestion to throw in some fresh minced jalapeno pepper, but considerably less than the one pepper directed. Hubs and I both thought this was pretty good, but just a tad too lemony as I kind of figured it would be as I was mixing this up. The bottom line is that keeping in mind that I reduced all ingredients but the lemon (and should have done so with that too), I think this would be remarkably better if the exact recipe simply called for three avocados rather than two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
WONDERFUL~~LOVED IT MADE IT ATE IT PROBABLY UNBELIEVABLE IF I HAD REFRIDGRATED IT FOR AN HOUR BEFORE I ATE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Guacamole is a new favorite for me. I cannot stand store bought or restaurant made Guac. I tried this recipe and have to say that I really liked it. I cannot eat spicy foods so instead of the jalapeno I use 2 bulbs of fresh garlic and instead of a whole cup of tomato I use 1/2 cup. Over all this is a really great recipe. Thank you so very much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Love it! I omitted the tomatoes because I don't care for them, and the recipe was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Too Easy!! and simply delicious. Whether you're just hungry for a few chips or topping fish taco's ..mmm mmm Good! Thanks for the 5 minute munchie fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntom52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this for our Mexican food night - mmm... so good! I made some changes because this is how I always make mine: add chopped tomatos, 1-2 T. soy sauce, extra onion, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. chili powder, and 1/2 tsp. black pepper. It's so addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Photo by DonnaFloyd
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It is great, I did use lime instead of the lemon as that is my favorite. It is so pretty with the tomato and I used green onions for darker shades of green. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaFloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States