Traditional Layered French Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Zan
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love these. This recipe is also very detailed, so it's easy to follow. One problem was the cooking time. I found it took only 13-15 or so minutes. Not the 22-25 minutes in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Some recipes you need to leave to the bakery down the street.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is very much worth the time and effort. It was a lot of work but the end result was delicious, buttery crossaints! I will make it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaBoulangere
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Thanks so much for a great, detailed recipe! It was my first attempt at any real pastry and it was a huge success! This isn't difficult at all if you have patience. I spread a little bit of almond paste on some of them before rolling and sprinkled sliced almonds on top after brushing on the egg wash to make my favorite french treat, croissant aux amandes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I followed the very detailed recipe to a "T". This author was right on. They turned out perfect, and I am so glad. I ALWAYS wanted to make Croissant and now I can say I FINALLY did it! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veryspoiled1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Very delicious and authentic, however it does take an extreme amount of time and dedication.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Limit Does Not Exist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Amazing recipe. Thank you for taking the time to write out the instructions. Followed the instructions step by step and ended up with the best croissants, all that was missing was the Champs-Elysees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Good when first out of the oven. Not worth the time it takes to make them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I changed them to use half cake flour and next time I will use 1/3-1/2 salted butter instead of all unsalted. Rise at cooler room temp (sub 80 F) or your butter will melt and soak into your pastry, making it tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. However, 1/2 teaspoon of salt is simply not enough. Next time I make it I will simply use salted butter. Also, I baked for 10 minutes at 400 then turned the trays around and baked for an additional 12 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States