Traditional Layered French Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Zan
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love these. This recipe is also very detailed, so it's easy to follow. One problem was the cooking time. I found it took only 13-15 or so minutes. Not the 22-25 minutes in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Some recipes you need to leave to the bakery down the street.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is very much worth the time and effort. It was a lot of work but the end result was delicious, buttery crossaints! I will make it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Have the look and texture of a great croissant. I may have missed something, but it needs a little more flavor. I am a novice at baking breads, so it may be me and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaBoulangere
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Thanks so much for a great, detailed recipe! It was my first attempt at any real pastry and it was a huge success! This isn't difficult at all if you have patience. I spread a little bit of almond paste on some of them before rolling and sprinkled sliced almonds on top after brushing on the egg wash to make my favorite french treat, croissant aux amandes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Good when first out of the oven. Not worth the time it takes to make them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I followed the very detailed recipe to a "T". This author was right on. They turned out perfect, and I am so glad. I ALWAYS wanted to make Croissant and now I can say I FINALLY did it! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veryspoiled1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Pay attention to the sizing of the croissants. If they are too small they will be crisp with very few folds inside. Try to keep the final triangles larger than 5 inches at the base. The folding process is actually much simpler than it sounds. It does not take as many chill-thaw cycles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My daughter made this for french class in high school and they came out great! Well worth the time and effort it took. Not a quick recipe it takes time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
tasty, but i must have missed something. how do i get the big flakey layers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States