Traditional Indiana Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
this recipe was extremely disappointing.i expected it to be like my family's PUDDING,yet it was more of a cake.i wasted money on all the ingredients.next time the picture needs to match the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
this is very similar to the recipe that my great grandmother used...that all my family uses and we have been eating it all our lives. some family members like whipped cream on top, some prefer milk or cream over it, no matter how you prefer, it's still a great recipe well worth keeping around for generations to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is the same my grandmother makes,just a lil more of this & less of that.I live in the south so it is hard to get persimmons down here at least in the stores.I always looked foward to this when they came to vist fro PA.Even better warm w/ a lil milk added to it...Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn29702

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I to am from Mitchell IN, and i agree this is not Persimmon Pudding, at least not the kind here in Indiana, If you are wanting to make true pudding dont use this, this is a persimmon cake of some sort, i tried it as i do all the other pudding recipes and it is good but not a true pudding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I purchased persimmon for the first time and this was the recipe I tried. I had company for dinner and both the company and my family LOVED it!! It was alot of work...stirring every 15min, but WELL worth it! We topped it with whipped cream...DELICIOUS!! Thanx for the Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I've never made a pudding before, so take my feedback with that in mind! This looked to me like it would be a kind of bread pudding, but the consistency wasn't fluffy like a bread pudding. Mine turned out not as dark as I expected and more sticky, like a paste. I added a few seasonal spices to the recipe as well since the persimmon flavor is so light. The taste was great and it is perfect with some vanilla ice cream. I'm not sure I would make this again, as I followed the recipe to the letter and the presentation at my function was doubtful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICSONG11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KerryT
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I'd like to clarify a couple of things about this recipe. I submitted this particular recipe, and to Beth, who made a comment, you are correct if you are going by the picture. I don't know where this picture came from, but its NOT my pudding! The picture looks like a cake. I wrote a long time ago to the webmaster to delete the photo because it is misleading. My grandmother's father, whose last name was Mitchell, was born and raised in Mitchell, Indiana. This recipe came from his family. I hope to get my own pudding photo uploaded to replace the one there now. Thanks :) -Kerry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I am from Mitchell, Indiana, home of the Persimmon Festival, Persimmon Capitol of the World and all that. This is NOT how we make our persimmon pudding. This recipe is more of a persimmon cake. Not that it doesn't still taste good, its just not persimmon pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I gave this 5 stars because it is almost exactly like the recipe that's been handed down in my family from the same era, and it is simply heavenly! Living in Texas for 25 years, I still crave persimmon pudding at Thanksgiving. I'll be contacting Dillman Farms this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Ahhhh! I am a born and bred Hoosier, and this is amazing. I live in New England now, and have persimmon pulp shipped to me from Dillman Farms in Indy. It's worth every penny. This is delicious served with fresh whipped cream. Everyone here who has tried has loved it. It reminds me of Indian pudding. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States