Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Growing up in the midwest, these were available in every restaurant. Now I live in the south and you never see them. My husband and I have enjoyed these numerous times now and everytime it reminds me of my grandmother frying these up in her Iowa kitchen. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was my first attempt at frying anything (kind of try to keep things healthy) and I didn't know my oil was too hot so I kind of burned the outside of the first two, but after that I just browned them in the oil and finished cooking in the oven and the Hubby RAVED! Few tiny changes for health reasons: used egg beaters rather than egg, made whole grain bread crumbs, and dipped in whole wheat flour before egg/milk mix. I WILL be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrabbApple

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I love these, they are the BEST. I used panko bread crumbs - nothing better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Pretty darn yummy. I doubled the mik/egg/spices and double dipped & coated my pork. Used an electric skillet and after getting oil good and hot, turned it down to medium. Cooked for more like 5 minutes tops on each side. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is an excellent recipe for an exceptional lunch/dinner option. I halved the recipe and did find, however, that the amount of bread crumbs was certainly too much for just two tenderloins, and was able to bread 4 tenderloins with still more bread crumbs leftover. I would say half the amount of bread crumbs and if it is still too little, then just add some more. For the cooking portion, I heated up my oil on medium-high heat and was able to brown the tenderloin at 2 minutes a side, making it 4 minutes per tenderloin. If I left it at 8 minutes as noted by the recipe directions, it would certainly would have been burnt. But all in all, a very hearty dish that I will certainly try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Chu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is definitely a traditional Indiana breaded pork tenderloin sandwich. And it's wonderful! I miss these so much. If you really want it to be authentic, take the time to pound the meat until it's about 1/4" thick. It helps it overhang the bun (like it should). Also, be sure to use mustard and pickles, the rest is optional. Thank you, Kathi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
These are very good! We made them twice once with Panko and once with crushed saltines. We liked the saltines better but think it is because of the increase of salt. Also, make sure you pound them out really thin... they seem to shrink back up so really really pound them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We had watched Adam Richman on Man Vs. Food eat these and this recipe seemed very close. They were da bomb! We had tons left because they pounded out so nicely...lots of yummy leftovers~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
perfect, juicy and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Perfect! Couldn't be more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States