Traditional Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this recipe for Easter as my husband told me he loved hot cross buns. These were superb! It will be my recipe for anytime we feel like Hot Cross Bus! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I love this recipe. It only makes 6 which is perfect for myself and my 6 year old - a fussy eater who also loves this recipe. The buns were light and airy and slightly sweet. They smell great and taste good enough to eat without any icing. I should say that I had to make this recipe twice as I got the milk too hot the first time and those buns took hours to rise and never got quite as light as the second batch where the milk was the right temperature. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I loved this recipe. I grow up with my mom making hot cross buns and now I can make them for my family. They are so easy to put together. The only thing i can add is that i had to add and extra 1/2 cup of flour to get the buns to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made a batch of this tonight and my company really enjoyed them. Like another poster, I only added the raisins (no currants or other fruit because my family doesn't like it). I chose this recipe because it only made 6 and others had left out the currants too. These are delicious. I did not make the icing cross either, just cut them to show the cross and they were very delicious. This is a great recipe for those concerned about sugar intake as it is quite low but still a treat. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was a great recipe. I did without the allspice and used cardamom instead - just a personal preference. I also doubled the recipe and ended up with 18 buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
good taste. Followed the recipe exactly and ended up with somewhat flat biscuits. 3 stars since the taste was good - and I concede some cook error/fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I just made these (a double recipe). I added zest of lemon and zest of orange and instead of currants I used dried blueberries. They are fabulous. I will make them again - and won't even wait for another Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
These were ok. They needed more spices and raisins/currants. Adding candied peel would improve them too. The recipe said to use "softened" butter, but really you need to use melted butter. Also the recipes says the buns will be "Ready in: 45 minutes". It doesn't take into account the rising time! You have to add on an extra 1.5 hours for that. Like others, I also had to double the icing recipe for the crosses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very good, surprisingly light and fluffy. As others have said, you have to double the icing recipe. I left out the fruit and allspice because I'm not a fan and used soy milk instead of dairy milk. They're very good but if I make them again, I'll add more cinnamon and leave the vanilla out of the icing (it gives it an odd taste). The "prep time" is an error because it forgets the hour and a half of rising that needs to be done which seriously threw me off! I only picked this recipe because of the short prep time then I got to the rising and..... sigh. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Best yeast anything I've ever made! These are simply delicious. I omitted the all spice and raisins so I used twice as many currants. Sooo delicious hot out of the oven with butter and salt. I can't wait to have these with our Easter dinner tomorrow with the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States