Traditional French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My girlfriend and I made 6 of these Tourtiere's and they were exactly like our mom's would make them. Perfect for us first timers learning how to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My mom's recipe greatly resembles this one but she always used savory and sage as her herbs; that's the taste I'm used to so wouldn't use the herbs/spices in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pakenham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Being of French Canadian descent pork pies were a traditional meal on Christmas Eve. My Meme is long gone now and her recipe. This is dead on to what I remember in my childhood. the only thing I added was mashed potatoes to bind the filing. Other than that its a keeper. Serve with pickled beets and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This a a really authentic tasting french canadian meat pie ! Easy to make and tasty--the key is really in the meat ,mostly pork and I did also add veal. I also used herb de provence for that thyme flavour...really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I scaled this down because there would have been way too much. The flavour was amazing. I've made tourtiere many times and the seasoning in this was the best. It was quite crumbly though so next time I will mix in some mashed potatoes to see if that will hold it together. Gave this one a four because of it crumbling but once that is fixed it will be the only tourtiere recipe I'll use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I am planning on making this on saturday, do I bake them before freezing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It had the perfect flavour but a little too crumbly...next time I'll add a little more of the juice back in. Very nice though...the French Canadian hubby actually liked it and he is super picky. Also watch out...the total time is misleading....it took about 40mins longer than it indicated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I liked this recipe. I did get a little carried away with adding the liquid back--I wanted it to be moist so I added more than the recipe said and ended up with a soggy bottom. Also, I ignored the instructions on the pie crust in favor of the recipe oven temperature. I think I should have followed the package directions (which called for 350 degrees) because the pie crusts got a little overbrowned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I love meat but thought this was really boring. I have a similar recipe made in phyllo dough that I love to make with dill, garlic, parsley more onion and a few other things.... I'll skip this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was delish! I left out the cinnamon and added more allspice, and I also added some mashed potato (that I added some beef broth and a touch of allspice to) just to make sure the pie was extra moist. I got rave reviews (and ate half the pie myself!). I will be making this pie again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States