Traditional Cranberry Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is very good, I like the touch of orange. The only thing I will change is to bump up the cinnimon by 1/2 teaspoon, which is personal preference. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was and awesome recipe! Nice change for a dessert instead of cookies, cakes and pies. Its sweet and tart and perfect just the way it is. I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I had to double the topping, just because I like the topping. The family loved it! I'll definately make this one again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I cut this recipe in half and baked in a 9x7" Pyrex dish. The only thing I changed was to add about 1 T of flour to the topping. I think it turned out perfectly. People complaining about tartness shouldn't be making cranberry anything. This definitely isn't a sweet crisp, but I prefer it that way. I used Cameo apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was less sweet than I expected but we enjoyed it with ice cream. I don't cook with cranberries often and usually the sugar in the recipe hides more of the tartness. Hard to know that up front. The filling was runny but served in a bowl with some vanilla ice cream still looked festive. I used an empire apple, didn't peel it, and added a little flour to the topping. I only made one serving (but used a whole, small apple) and ended up with a 4x7 dish that served 4 with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My family loved this recipe and ate it up in no time, but I gave it four stars because I found it too tart for my taste. It definitely needed that scoop of vanilla ice cream on top to balance out the sweet and sour flavors. In the future I might try using less cranberries, and more apples and sugar. However, I still think it's a great recipe, especially if you're a fan of cranberries:) (note: the recipe says a 9x12 pan feeds only 6 people! It really serves about 12)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Just made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I think next time I'd use less nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Won't be making this again, so glad I only made half a recipe. Made like recipe said, but did use more cinnamon as others suggested. I have better cranberry crisp recipe, but thought since this had apple it would be a nice change. WRONG. If we'd liked the filling better I would've made my usual topping because this didn't have any flavor & seemed very buttery. I like the ones with flour in with the oatmeal & butter because it gets crispier. Sorry, but not worth keeping for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Was more of a cranberry/apple sauce than a dessert cran/apple crisp. Lack something to bind it together (that's why it was a sauce & I followed the directions to a T). I would not have chopped the apple, but slice them. I like flour added to my topping for more of a crispy chunky texture. I would not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States