Traditional Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
this is really good- however i did add almonds and choclolate chips to it- the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starcafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Had to a more flour. Out grew the pan some. But.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This cake was somewhat difficult to make, however it has crunch and its fluffy. Very delicious flavor! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
If you're ever up in the middle of the night and can't sleep, make this cake. It takes HOURS to make and to roll out the little balls, but it's completely beautiful and tastes great. I highly recommend it if you have the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Wonderful cake! It didn't last too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Made it last night on a whim. It took a total of four hours (without letting the individual walnut-sized balls double in size [was running out of time]). I had some cinnamon sugar and butter left after rolling the dough in it, so I combined them and poured it over the entire mixture. It turned out excellent, everyone loved them. Taste was wonderful, just wish there was a bit more "Crunch" to it. There is nothing as good as the smell of it when its cooking! My coffee cake got done thirteen minutes early, so you may want to watch it closely, so you don't burn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
So good! It is worth the wait. I started it by 3:00 and got dinner ready while it was rising. Had it for dessert and then enough left over for breakfast!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very good... reminds me of Starbucks crumb cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Excellent! I wasn't sure how dipping and rolling the balls in butter and cinnamon/sugar was going to work out, but it was great. It eliminated the dry, tasteless bottom half, which is a common problem with other coffee cakes. My cake turned out more like a cinnamon bread that was moist and flavorful all the way through, with a crunchy top. Because I like to use different flours, I substituted 1 c almond flour and 1/2 c whole wheat flour for 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour. Like other reviewers, I found that I needed to add more all-purpose flour to make the dough stiff enough to knead. I think using the Bundt pan is important -- I used a regular 9" pan, and the middle of my cake fell a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States