Traditional Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
If you're ever up in the middle of the night and can't sleep, make this cake. It takes HOURS to make and to roll out the little balls, but it's completely beautiful and tastes great. I highly recommend it if you have the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I would have given this a five for it's taste, appealing crunchiness and looks, but there has to be something wrong with the recipe instructions. How can you knead dough that's the consistency of cake batter? Since it obviosly wouldn't have worked, I didn't knead before the first rising, but I added flour and kneaded before the second rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This cake was somewhat difficult to make, however it has crunch and its fluffy. Very delicious flavor! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This great cake is hard to beat for a good looking and great tasting coffee crowd pleaser. There is more than enough "stuff" to fill that Bundt pan, take some and place a single layer in a 8 or 9 inch single layer cake pan too. One or two things that I'd change are: the note to preheat at the beginning. Wait intil that last 'punch' and into the 45 minute rise after that. Also, add about a third again to the butter and sugar-cinnamon for dipping and rolling, any left overs can be drizzled and dusted over the top of the pile in the pan. A winner with my crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinstar
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I love this recipe! I love the crunch, the taste, how fluffy, and how crumbly it is! It just a great recipe. I would have given it 5 stars but I think the recipe is a touch off somewhere. I added at least another 2 cups of flour, if not more, along the way to get it to a recipe I could at least touch and not be totally covered or it being like a batter. I,also, ended up using more sugar and cinnamon but we have a bit of a sweet tooth in the house. What was left over, I just mixed with the butter and poured over the top. Extra, crunchy goodness! LOL! I don't think this recipe is for the beginner baker though. It requires lots of time and patience, and sometimes, trial and error. This is a fantastic recipe! I wouldn't attempt it if you didn't have a lot of time to spare. It took me around 4 hours from start to finish. I knew going into it that it was going to take a while so I was prepared. It is well worth all the time you put into it! I will upload some pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Made it last night on a whim. It took a total of four hours (without letting the individual walnut-sized balls double in size [was running out of time]). I had some cinnamon sugar and butter left after rolling the dough in it, so I combined them and poured it over the entire mixture. It turned out excellent, everyone loved them. Taste was wonderful, just wish there was a bit more "Crunch" to it. There is nothing as good as the smell of it when its cooking! My coffee cake got done thirteen minutes early, so you may want to watch it closely, so you don't burn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars was because it is more like sticky buns than a coffee cake. I did increase the flour, adding an extra cup and instead of the warm water I used warm black coffee. Family likes the flavour and crunch. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
We have edited the steps in this recipe so that preheating the oven isn't the first step! We've also included the prep and baking times, as this is a yeast-raised dough. Our apologies for any confusion this has caused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Had to a more flour. Out grew the pan some. But.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
What a MESS. Taught me a few lessons though. Always read through a recipe before you start: I preheated my oven when it said to..not sure why considering it takes four hours to make. Which I also didn't realize. Guess we'll be having coffee cake for lunch, not breakfast. Also, I gave the recipe the benefit of the doubt, and went ahead and rolled (spooned) it out to try to knead before letting it rise. Spooned it right back in the bowl and let it rise for an hour and a half, then added a layer of flour on the top and a bunch of my dough mat. It was still pretty sticky, but doable. It's rising for the second time now..I hope it's worth all the time and mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States