Traditional Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Excellent! I wasn't sure how dipping and rolling the balls in butter and cinnamon/sugar was going to work out, but it was great. It eliminated the dry, tasteless bottom half, which is a common problem with other coffee cakes. My cake turned out more like a cinnamon bread that was moist and flavorful all the way through, with a crunchy top. Because I like to use different flours, I substituted 1 c almond flour and 1/2 c whole wheat flour for 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour. Like other reviewers, I found that I needed to add more all-purpose flour to make the dough stiff enough to knead. I think using the Bundt pan is important -- I used a regular 9" pan, and the middle of my cake fell a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Not enough flour, very sticky to deal with, and took too long to make (hours), not the kind of coffee cake I'm used to dealing with but thought I'd try it. This is like a cinnamon bread, rather than cake. Also too much cinnamon for our taste. Overall, just felt like I'd wasted part of my day, maybe good for some, not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinstar
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I love this recipe! I love the crunch, the taste, how fluffy, and how crumbly it is! It just a great recipe. I would have given it 5 stars but I think the recipe is a touch off somewhere. I added at least another 2 cups of flour, if not more, along the way to get it to a recipe I could at least touch and not be totally covered or it being like a batter. I,also, ended up using more sugar and cinnamon but we have a bit of a sweet tooth in the house. What was left over, I just mixed with the butter and poured over the top. Extra, crunchy goodness! LOL! I don't think this recipe is for the beginner baker though. It requires lots of time and patience, and sometimes, trial and error. This is a fantastic recipe! I wouldn't attempt it if you didn't have a lot of time to spare. It took me around 4 hours from start to finish. I knew going into it that it was going to take a while so I was prepared. It is well worth all the time you put into it! I will upload some pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
this is really good- however i did add almonds and choclolate chips to it- the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starcafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very good... reminds me of Starbucks crumb cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
So good! It is worth the wait. I started it by 3:00 and got dinner ready while it was rising. Had it for dessert and then enough left over for breakfast!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This isn't really like other coffee cakes I've had before. It was good but not really what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This great cake is hard to beat for a good looking and great tasting coffee crowd pleaser. There is more than enough "stuff" to fill that Bundt pan, take some and place a single layer in a 8 or 9 inch single layer cake pan too. One or two things that I'd change are: the note to preheat at the beginning. Wait intil that last 'punch' and into the 45 minute rise after that. Also, add about a third again to the butter and sugar-cinnamon for dipping and rolling, any left overs can be drizzled and dusted over the top of the pile in the pan. A winner with my crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Had to a more flour. Out grew the pan some. But.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States