Traditional Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Innacurate recipe. Ridiculously long time to end up with some ...balls of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madi Lussier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
A lot of time and effort for a mediocre cake! Flour measurement was off and after baking, realized I should have added extra butter and cinnamon because it wasn't as gooey or flavorful as I would expect. My husband liked it, but he didn't spend all day in the kitchen or clean up the mess :) Next time I will save my effort on the "Clone of a Cinnabon" recipe that uses the same ingredients (but adds a cream cheese frosting) and takes less time. That recipe is 5 stars every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I would have to say that the only thing to change about this recipe is the amount of flour... I played it by ear and kept playing with the dough. Added flour until it was "dough". Although I have never worked with yeast on my own; my first attempt at this recipe was a fail but that has to do with the fact that I was trying to go the healthy route and used rice flour instead. I did use coconut sugar that is low in the glycemic index, which in fact made it taste sweeter. All in all, I do plan on using this recipe for coffee time post thanksgiving dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Anyone trying this recipe who has never kneaded wet dough before should read up on it before attempting it. I Googled, and there were a lot of good instructional sites. I am going to have to make it again, since I didn't know what I was doing the first time. It was pretty good in spite of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My family and friends loved it, and my daughter enjoyed making it with me. She called it "snickerdoodle cake" because of the similar process of rolling it in sugar. It was thinner than cookie dough,as other reviewers have stated, so I basically used a spoon and dropped it into the butter and sugar mix, similar as one might drop dumplings in soup. That worked pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
We have edited the steps in this recipe so that preheating the oven isn't the first step! We've also included the prep and baking times, as this is a yeast-raised dough. Our apologies for any confusion this has caused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
What a MESS. Taught me a few lessons though. Always read through a recipe before you start: I preheated my oven when it said to..not sure why considering it takes four hours to make. Which I also didn't realize. Guess we'll be having coffee cake for lunch, not breakfast. Also, I gave the recipe the benefit of the doubt, and went ahead and rolled (spooned) it out to try to knead before letting it rise. Spooned it right back in the bowl and let it rise for an hour and a half, then added a layer of flour on the top and a bunch of my dough mat. It was still pretty sticky, but doable. It's rising for the second time now..I hope it's worth all the time and mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Super simple ans tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatG
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Delicious. Instructions are a bit confusing, but it turned out wonderfully. Soft and moist with a crunchy exterior. I took the cake out 14 minutes early and it was perfect; keep an eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Looked and tasted divine, especially with applesauce, but WAY too time consuming. I enjoyed it, and so did my family, and after the 4 1/2 hours I spent, they better have enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States