Traditional Christmas Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My mom made this for the holidays all the time growing up and today I'm making it for New Year's Eve. She didn't use walnuts and layered sliced green olives all around it -- but I am chopping up the olives and rolling it in walnuts which is easier, just as pretty and adds a nice crunch :) She served it with Ritz crackers and Chicken in a Biscuit crackers so I'll probably do the same, maybe a whole grain cracker also. It's definitely delicious and presents well on a nice cheese platter or plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaceflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love this cheeseball, make it often for parties, etc. Frequently I will add about 1/2 can of crushed pineapple to it. The combination of the sweetness of the pineapple and the saltiness of the olives play off each other well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I found the green olives to make the cheese ball too salty for our taste. One tip from another reviewer was to add shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese.. this worked out great! I'm making the cheese ball a second time, omitting the green olives and using diced green onions in its place. Also, adding a bit more Worcestershire sauce and added a dash of garlic powder. I think the second time around will be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
looking for recipe for cheese ball with red sauce poured over it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Mann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made this for my family last year at Christmas time. The first comment out of my daughter's mouth was, "make this again next year". There wasn't a bit of leftovers. Delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I served this for a christmas buffet and everyone loved it. I plan to make it again for another party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
For the smoked beef look for Buddig Beef in the lunch meat section of the grocery. It comes in a bag, not a glass jar. It is the traditional product for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We liked it, but I like my mother-in-law's version better. It's similar, but has more beef, all green onions, and more Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Amazing flavour. My guests all raved about it. The mixture didn't firm up as suggested by the recipe, but stayed liquid, more like a dip. Not a problem, as it was snapped up by everyone. Very easy to make, and very tasty. Good job Love2Cook87. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States