Traditional Christmas Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
The dried beef is made by Hormel and is sold in a small clear glass jar. Ask for help finding it. It's an old product that's been around for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deepsnogrl
Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I make this every year but add 6 oz blue cheese, and add a couple of dashes of garlic powder and onion powder, diced fine green and red pepper and also diced black olives and a cap full of lemon juice. Easy on the olives as they can be over powering. I do not use nuts - just put it in a bowl and serve with several kinds of crackers. It is always the first appetizer to be gone. Chilling overnight is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I used two packages of Budig Pastrami and left out the green olives. The olives can be just too salty. I serve it with pretzels (which I know adds back salt). The Worcestershire sauce really pulls all the flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very good...not your typical cheese ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made this for two Christmas parties this year (2011) and it was a huge hit! I don't eat meat so I substituted smoked salmon instead. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I couldn't find the smoked beef at the grocery store, which gave me the idea to use summer sausage from my husband's deer. I chopped it in the blender, and it processed to perfection. I also used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I didn't get a chance to try to original recipe, but my what I did have was great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busywithtwins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was really good, but I left out the beef, cause I didn't know if that meant "beef jerky type?" Still very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The green olive is very prominent in this. A little bit goes a long way. The cheese mixture was very soft, I could not roll it so I just put it in a bowl and used a knife to put on the Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was so delicious! Everyone absolutely loved it and it was gone in no time. It tasted great on its own but I have also tried adding extra sharp cheddar cheese for some extra flavour and this was just as delicious. It gave it some extra flavour, making the taste of the cream cheese a little fainter (although, don't get me wrong, I love cream cheese). All in all, I loved this recipe (as is)!!! Will be making MANY times again. It's now a favourite for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is a good, basic savory cheese ball. I mixed everything together in a food processor and it was super-easy. Just make sure the folks you will be serving it to like green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States