Traditional Christmas Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this for Christmas this year and it was a huge hit! I could not find smoked beef, so instead I bought a package of thinly sliced smoked ham lunch meat and chopped that up. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was really tasty. However, it was too soft for me to make a cheese ball out of it... in fact, my family jokingly called it a 'cheese flat'! I ended up skipping the nuts and served it as a dip instead. I will definitely will make it again as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Love the way the olives,beef and walnuts all work together with the cream cheese. My mom use to make this for Christmas when I was a kid, in the 70's. Memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I was leary of using the whole onion so I only used a quarter and I think that was a perfect amount. The aroma of the cheese ball was great. I did make this for christmas and it was liked by all. It was easy to make with easy to find ingridents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Tried it - just as written (as I usually do). Not good at all - It was just cream cheese. I'm glad I tried it before wasting the nuts on it. I guess I should have thought about it before mixing it up - just cream cheese in a cheese ball?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA
Living In: Voorheesville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is very good and easy to put together. The only thing I changed was I used chopped green onions instead of the sweet onions and added a tub of blue cheese crumbles. I also used 2 pkgs of cream cheese instead of the 1 1/2 pkg. Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this without the green olives (though I did use pimiento on its own), and it was fabulous! Unless you and your guests REALLY like green olives, I would leave them out. They are a very over-riding flavor and only those who love them will enjoy them in this recipe. Great recipe that is easily tweaked to make it "your own"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My mom always used to make this for the holidays--thanks for posting this, because now I can make it this year!! You can use any kind of crackers, but I agree that Ritz are perfect--what Mom always used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is the cheese ball my mother used to make every year, only without the olives. (They can override and change the flavor of everything.) I was going to add "but my mom used worcestershire sauce in hers" when I re-read this and saw it was in there! Just add a little more of the sauce, a little bit of garlic powder (or Mrs. Dash garlic and herb) for a really great cracker spread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
i will do it my first time this year and hopeing it's so delicious like it looks like candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by santiagocaha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fulda, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States