Traditional Chicken Keleguin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dominica Bennett
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made this recipe for multicultural day at my job and it was a hit!!! Too bad I didn't make enough!!ugh! I ran out in like 20 minutes!! I will be better prepared next year!!! Only changes I made was I used coconut milk and just lemon juice( it's was super late at night) but it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominica Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
No one had seconds. Also, the high fat, high fiber content of the coconut did not sit well on everyone's stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is a basic, traditional recipe my family also uses. Instead of dried pepper flakes, we use fresh peppers (donne). Most on the mainland do not have a coconut grater (kamyo) unless it's passed down from family or someone builds it. If you to not have a kamyo, the kelaguin is also tasty without the coconut. Kelaguin at a party/bbq as a side dish, with flour tortilla (kelaguin burrito), sweet bread or on tatiyas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes to make. It takes a while to make, but it's simple, healthy, and delicious. I usually cut back on the red pepper flakes, as that much makes it very powerful. My wife and I like to wrap this in warm tortillas. It is also good cold as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
this was great! whole foods sells dried, unsweetened coconut chipped, in a pinch that'll work. this was a great way to serve leftover roast chicken. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
You all can thank me now. I have found a way to cut the prep time in half. For those of you not lucky enough to have a Guamanian coconut scraper and have spent hours getting that coconut out of its shell listen up. Crack the coconut with a hammer into small pieces then with a sharp knife cut the outer “shell” aka the brown part. Cut the meat pieces into 1 inch pieces and put in your blender on “grate”. It comes out perfect and so so easy! I was lucky enough to grow up on Guam and have such fond memories especially of the food with Keleguin being my favorite but was SO time consuming that I seldom made it. It will be made a whole lot more often now. Watch out, pickled papaya is next! Hafa Adai!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a wonderful dish! It was soo yummy, I plan on making this all the time! The only reason it isnt getting 5 stars is because it was WAY to spicy for me. I used 2 tablespoons of red pepper flakes, next time I will use 1. Three is WAY too much, unless you love very spicy foods. Thanks for the recipe, really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I wanted to like this dish, but I must have done something wrong. I used a young coconut because that's all they had at the store, and the coconut flavor was overpowered by the lemons. I think my cooking ability ends at preparing fresh coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is wonderful. I bought a whole chicken and didn't know what I wanted to do with it. I decided to give this a try and couldn't be happier. A gave it a liberal squirt (maybe two tbl spoons) of sriracha to bring up the heat a little. I was worried about grading the coconut meat but it turned out to be much easier than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Wow, yum! I used a rotisserie chicken from the store, and substituted 1 small clementine orange for one of the lemons, and put the pepper flakes on the table so that all could season to taste. I chilled the chicken/coconut mix, heated fresh baked tortillas from the deli in the oven, and served both with a pineapple yogurt sauce (crushed canned pineapple mixed into plain whole milk yogurt). My husband and I loved it - thanks - we will put this one into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States