Traditional Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
If you're looking a traditional INDIAN curry, then this is it. If, however, you are looking for a RED curry, then I suggest you try a THAI curry. The point of this curry is not the heat but the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADAMEMIMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldershot, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Bury, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Some of the directions seem to be missing..... When browning the onions, make sure the onions are a deep brownish/red color before adding the spices. They should not be white. Also, once you add the tomatoes, let some of the liquid evaporate and cook until the oil separates from the tomaotes before going to the next step. You will see the tomatoes thicken up a bit. miglenova: There is NO curry powder in this recipe. Most Indian curries do NOT use curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simmig
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I didn't follow the recipie exactly, didn't have a couple of the spices and a few of the ingredients, so I winged it a bit, but it turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was excellent. If you love indian food try this. I added some chopped spinach and substituted sour cream for the yogurt and served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Added 4 cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I am going to try that recipe today, but I can't find the curry in the igredients.How much, and when to put it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Great flavor! The only thing I did differently was use boneless/skinless chicken thighs and a couple more garlic cloves. I also left the cover off the saucepan for a while to let some of the liquid cook off (it seemed a bit watery for my liking)I will definatley make this one again! I think next time I might add some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is excellent as a starting base - don't be afraid to try substitutions though. While it might not be authentic, this tastes great with about 2-3 tbsp of yellow curry, a handful of yellow raisins, and coconut milk instead of the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyBeckyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Simply delicious - a great recipe for Indian food lovers that won't burn a hole in your mouth. My one "complaint" is that calling this a "curry" recipe without actually having curry in it is misleading. Cumin and turmeric are in the curry family, but they aren't curry. I shared this recipe with a friend of mine who doesn't care for curry and she wouldn't cook it because of the name - but I convinced her otherwise luckily. Otherwise, this is super yummy and will please your hubby too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted more like a chicken chili. My 3 best friends are Indian, so I have had a lot of authentic Indian chicken curries. They all taste different, but this is not even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States