Traditional Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
As I was anxious to start this (and hungry) I put the lemon juice, salt and pepper into the pan with the chicken (I used chicken thighs). I also substituted low fat creme fraiche instead of the yoghurt and did not add water as we like a thick curry. This curry was delicious! Better than some I have had in Indian restaurants. This has been saved to my recipe box and will be used many, many times in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Pearson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I've tried this recipe twice so far and really enjoy it. Although I didn't follow the tips of the previous reviewer, I will keep them in mind when making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted more like a chicken chili. My 3 best friends are Indian, so I have had a lot of authentic Indian chicken curries. They all taste different, but this is not even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Simply delicious - a great recipe for Indian food lovers that won't burn a hole in your mouth. My one "complaint" is that calling this a "curry" recipe without actually having curry in it is misleading. Cumin and turmeric are in the curry family, but they aren't curry. I shared this recipe with a friend of mine who doesn't care for curry and she wouldn't cook it because of the name - but I convinced her otherwise luckily. Otherwise, this is super yummy and will please your hubby too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is excellent as a starting base - don't be afraid to try substitutions though. While it might not be authentic, this tastes great with about 2-3 tbsp of yellow curry, a handful of yellow raisins, and coconut milk instead of the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyBeckyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Great flavor! The only thing I did differently was use boneless/skinless chicken thighs and a couple more garlic cloves. I also left the cover off the saucepan for a while to let some of the liquid cook off (it seemed a bit watery for my liking)I will definatley make this one again! I think next time I might add some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I am going to try that recipe today, but I can't find the curry in the igredients.How much, and when to put it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Added 4 cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was excellent. If you love indian food try this. I added some chopped spinach and substituted sour cream for the yogurt and served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I didn't follow the recipie exactly, didn't have a couple of the spices and a few of the ingredients, so I winged it a bit, but it turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States